The Perfect Day of Lounging

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

U5dsiZUL3yjUqK2YW7GYBd41otLRPzb_1680x8400 (1).jpg

Another day, another dollar. I am roughly six years from retirement and I am jealous as I hear other people's plans to retire and lounge around the house. I have no plans to simply lounge, nonetheless the whole idea does have me thinking about the future.

I have a case of the blues over it. Then I think about what retirement means. Afterall, how much lounging can a person honestly do? Also, I am too much a critic of media to ever just sit and consume it. I want to create it!

My perfect retirement will involve some kind of writing; novels, short stories, and screenplays. I once knew a guy who spent all of his time in the library after he retired reading Travis McGee pulp and French Revolution history books. I think exploring world history would be fun. However, I would much rather be the one writing the Travis McGee novels.

Can it be done? Sure. Anything we want to do, we can accomplish if we practise. That is why I am practising my short fiction and book ideas now. The quest for a novel actually doesn't seem like something of a dream at this point. It is just a case of figuring out the plot and the characters. Then building the world.

Some may see this as too much. But I see it as a challenge! Sure, it may not happen right away, but I have plenty of time to sit around and think about the next step. After all, once you are retired, what else do you have to do?

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Day 272: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: blues by @mariannewest

Border


Steemit Amazon RSS

Wordsmith Holler

Buy Me Coffee

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png

Dustsweeper

Border

Sort:  

Beginning middle end!

Also, I am too much a critic of media to ever just sit and consume it. I want to create it!

This is ME all the way! I want to write novels and create worlds. I do like the idea of studying history, if only to give myself a set of knowledge so that I can write historical novels as well!

Great post and you make some really good points. Why not? We can't let our brains turn to dust.

Now I want to do it! Anyway, I'm going to keep at it here for 6 years (and write on the side. ;-) ).

Yes! That's what we have to do. Maybe we'll hit the jackpot and write that next best selling novel and retire early. (We can dream anyway, that's a good use of our imagination, right?)

Go for it! I dream of writing as much as I wish..and photography, too!

I would be able to relax for about a month, maybe. Then I would want to DO something significant to help as many as possible. But I have a while to go before I can think about retirement. Great freewrite @wordymouth!

if you can imagine yourself doing things certainly you can also do it. Keep inspiring @wordymouth

Thank you for joining us with your #freewrite! You were featured in our weekly Freewrite Favorites #16 today! Congratulations and keep writing!

freewriteFavorites2-VOL16-300.png

You can absolutely do it! Here on Steemit we are "sharping the pen", growing our writing ability and confidence every day! I wish you the best for your creative plans!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43