Standing in the Rain, Hammer in Hand, With Murder on my Mind

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

knife-2238539_1920.jpg
Pixabay

Honestly, I never imagined he would take me up on my offer. I mean it is preposterous, but there I was standing outside an apartment in the rain and holding a hammer. I grabbed the first one I could find and sizing it up I think it may have been too much hammer for me. Strangely, the head had ridges and it weighed a ton. However, I did take the biggest one from my dad's collection. So, I suppose, I have no one else to blame.

As for placing myself in this position, I guess I am also to blame. He seemed so upset and I being the funny guy said "I can kill him for you." It was a flippant remark to break the tension. He immediately said yes and told me how to find the guy.

Sure, I could have backed down, but it's kind of like when your friend double dog dares you to put your tongue on a frozen pipe. You can't back down. You've got to go through with it.

So, I stood out in the rain and tried to see the top window where the guy was sleeping. And that's how you found me officer. Standing in the rain, holding this hammer.

Day 517: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: hammer by @mariannewest

Copyright © 2019 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Border
Steemit Amazon RSS

Wordsmith Holler

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg
DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png
Border

Sort:  

Excellent story. I had so many possibilities for an ending swirling around as I read, but nothing even close to the one you arrived at. It was a nice ride.

Thanks. Sometimes when the muse talks, and you have five minutes, you just type and hope for the best.

Your PRIVATE POSTING KEY has been compromised. Any malicious person can POST, COMMENT, or VOTE from your account. Please change your MASTER PASSWORD as soon as possible.

Glad the officer found him before bashing in the head... 🤔

Didn't expect the ending be like this. Excellent choice!


I know I am late but better than nothing. If you haven't checked out the next prompt, here it is ➡️ 'bark'.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page to join more awesome contests at the
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77