Scribbles on the word "Brand"

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

imageDad got a brand new heart valve from a cow. I'm going to walk behind him and moo occasionally.

~

They say the best brand names are proper nouns; McDonald's, Lipton, Wendy's, Harrah's, Nabisco. Of course, your proper name sounds great until you are embroiled in a personal crisis; Weinstein, Wynn, et. al.

~

A marketing genius can make a brand explode overnight. The Pet Rock comes to mind. Who would buy a rock? Some marketing guy convinced millions of Americans to adopt a rock as a pet. A fad brand we still think about.

~

My grandfather used a branding iron to brand his few cows and sheep with a rocking K brand. His last name was Kay. It was a simple brand but I've never seen it mentioned in the annuals of cattle branding. If I keep going I might be able to use the word brand again.

~
My daughter used a cream on her face aimed at erasing zits. All it did was brand her with a red rash. It took a few doses of antihistamine to bring her back to just oily skin. I can't remember the brand name of the rash cream.

~
I'm amazed at how many generic brand names there are for established brand names. Soon its just going to all be brand names and the generics are just going to say "Cheese paste in a can."

~
Fin

wordsmith-divider.png

DQmdH9oFNudU2pPyjrMh1pxFSCMyVTAtfwJ5tSyQ8GjPRzG.png

wordsmith-divider-bottom.png

DQmbPpXJ2wef8iLbmMqTsqmHNN6fPzFrjuiND4MTMzB2Joi_1680x8400.png


Thanks to @mariannewest. Day 152: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: brand

Sort:  

Very good post............

Lots of thoughts on the word "brand" here. This is kind of how my mind works too...I had to force myself to focus for today's freewrite!

I just started writing and hoped it would come out okay. I think sometimes the prompt is picked to stump us! Thanks for the feedback.

:)) Haha, yes, I like the random associations.
Also: I've heard of a canadian brand and they do kind of what you suggested and at the end and label items with 'No name'.

Gelatinized piggy parts in a fatty loaf = SPAM. Maybe, the proper name is best. ;-)

Today you have the dubious distinction of having mentioned brand more often than any other free writer, Congratulations.
Now here’s your Wednesday prompt:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-153-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-speaker

I do my best. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44