Sadness Behind the Mask

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

person-clothing-clown-art-mask-head-175488-pxhere.com.jpg
PxHere

The face mask I show smirks like a clown
A mask to hide and my protect my frown
The sadness grows each passing day
My depression seeks to find a way

Spilling out and ruining my plans
Of upholding my solemn bans
To keep myself friendly, helpful, and compassionate
I wish to remain abstinent

And continue to hide my fright
From all those who alight
They need not know my piles
Or wonder about my daily trials

I'll continue on wearing this mask
The liquid horrors fill my cask
I'm content to keep on smiling
I'll do anything to remain beguiling

My frown will never be shown
My face mask hides what never can be known.

Day 367: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: Face Mask by @mariannewest

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Border

Steemit Amazon RSS

Wordsmith Holler
Border

Sort:  

We all cover that truth behind the mask!
The masks we wear everyday meeting different people :)

Wonderful poetry, @wordymouth. You have found a very nice picture to go with the poem, too! Well done!

Thanks for reading. It seemed like a poetry prompt and I got lucky with the photo. I appreciate the feedback. ;-)

So much truth for so many people. Your words make me cry because I know in my heart my mask has become so firmly attached it may never come off. Tears can be healing however, so I thank you for speaking my truth.

Great job! I think most of us wear a mask at least some of the time. I try to remember that when I'm dealing with others, because we never know what someone else is going through.

Great freewrite!

I'll kindly advice you to remove the mask and enjoy life as you want others to see you.

Nice poem.

Well, am here with today's freewrite prompt.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-368-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-yummy

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll kindly advice you to remove the mask and enjoy life as you want others to see you.

Nice poem.

Well, am here with today's freewrite prompt.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-368-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-yummy

Posted using Partiko Android

I think many of us are so used to our masks we never open up. After my stroke, I started being more honest. I think my new mask shows a lot more of what I truly am and feel.

Oh, hiding behind the mask - like so many of us do...

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

Damn, this is sad. Beautiful, but really really sad. It's truly awful, isn't it? That you can never quite know someone, know if something's wrong? Very well captured here.

Oh, here's the latest prompt in case you wanna do more writing!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-368-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-yummy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20