On Frightened Wing

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I'm working on NaNoWriMo, which isn't working out so well. Too much year-end work, and I need to do more character study. Still, I've got a fair piece of a novel underway; I just don't see me reaching 50,000 words for a win this year.

It's been awhile for the Daily Prompt for me. I decided to take a break and just freewrite for a bit. Here is today's:

wing-photography-fly-insect-moth-butterfly-998431-pxhere.com.jpg
PxHere

I opened the door and the cold wind blasted me in the face. I quickly closed it. I would check on the hoses later. My quick check of the outdoor temperature let a moth in and now it jumped and fluttered around the living room light like a drop of water on a hot skillet. I tried to catch it mid-flutter. No luck. I never landed on the side of the lamp; it was happy to dance around the light.

I fell asleep watching TV and didn't remember the moth at first as it crawled over my blanket. Grey and powdered wings were pulled by a black head and long antennae. I looked like an alien angel coming to suck my sins through my face. I clomped my fist around it and clasped it in my hand. "I like my sins," I thought, as I tossed the moth through the door into the cold wind.

Day 395: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: moth by @mariannewest

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Border


Steemit Amazon RSS

Wordsmith Holler

Buy Me Coffee

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png

Dustsweeper

Border

Sort:  

dang! What a visual!
I[t] looked like an alien angel coming to suck my sins through my face.
Looking forward to your NaNo story!

NaNo may not get done until March at this rate. ;-) I'll forward it on when I get there.

That was excellent. I love your descriptions.

now it jumped and fluttered around the living room light like a drop of water on a hot skillet.

Thank you. Now I'm thinking about pancakes. ;-)

enjoy your meal!

Posted using Partiko Android

Your description is so visual

Posted using Partiko Android

I looked like an alien angel coming to suck my sins through my face. I clomped my fist around it and clasped it in my hand. "I like my sins," I thought

I love this!!

Hope that you get some free time and power toward your NaNo goal. I was doing well the first few days and am starting to have life happen a bit too much for my writing goals :)

Same here with work and family. I'm going to make it NaNoWriYear ;-) I also have so many other WIPs underway, I was starting to feel guilty about staring another. This one is a departure for me too; more of a Nicholas Sparks-type story. So, I'm a bit out of my element on it. In any case, I'm going to finish probably next year. I'm going to spend some time with family and loved ones during this holiday week. Happy Thanksgiving!

And that is the most important thing - spending time with family!
Happy Thanksgiving and all the best for the many NaNoWriYears to come 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41