Day 134: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: plaid

in #freewrite7 years ago

Better late than never right. I spent quite a few hours in bandwidth hell waiting for enough power to write this. I'm just a minnow at the mercy of my blockchain masters!


To review the 1976 Sears Catalog, an impressionable shopper would come away with the notion every kid needed to wear Toughskins Plaid Pants while skating, climbing trees, or doing chores. The pants hid a secret knee pad behind the pant knees enabling the wearer to skin up the pants without leaving a hole.

Unfortunately, the brilliant designer of these pants failed to note the pad cracked and deteriorated after several washings. This left a scratchy knee pad rubbing the child's knees raw under the pants. The pad deteriorated so badly kids often ripped the pad out of the knees leaving little protection from the rough and tough sidewalk.

Sears marketed the Toughskins brand to moms like they marketed Craftsmen tools to men. No beloved child could go without a pair of Toughskins, just as no plumber could get away without using a Craftsmen plumbing wrench.

cdcf75b1fb9d56d371f8cdddd3cd3561.jpg

I must admit I wore quite a few pairs of these treasured jeans. For years mom whipped out the Sears catalog and ordered me two pairs every fall in time for school. This went until the Ocean Pacific (OP) brand came out with clothing all the 13-year-olds were wearing and I convinced her to buy them instead.

I won't go into my satin flower shirt period.


Cheers,

Michael

Wordymouth

Sort:  

Haha this made me laugh out loud. Nice story. Shall follow for more.

So the one thing that was supposed make these pants tough was in fact the weakest link. Although you probably had to be tough to keep wearing those pants with it rubbing your knees raw!

I recall the pants were more like jeans, but yes, each pair had an inner patch. The thing I remember was that the patch would peel and feel like sandpaper. ;-)

Ouch that's really a torment to the child , the pant would rub the knees like a sand paper . I don't know why mom's love these plaid cloths for kids ?

They were a torment. But I was 10; I was a hostage to the Sears catalog.

This explains a lot, actually. Here's to hoping tomorrow's prompt is: satin flower shirt. 😁 But, today's prompt is another matter.


I'm being followed by a gang of suspicious looking squirrels. I think they're trying to steal today's prompts. Allow me to deliver them while I still can...

Weekend Freewrite Single Option!

Weekend Freewrite - Part 1 - The First Sentence!

Are you sure they weren't meant to be worn in bed only? (Would have lasted longer, perhaps)?

From the picture, you’d think they were pajamas. But I can assure you, they were thick as jeans. They just looked like plaid pants from hell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57226.98
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29