Banana Slugs are Weird

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

bananaslug.jpg
"Grateful Slug" Courtesy of amelrose

In high school our mascot was a wild mustang. By college we sported a cougar. So when he told me his university sported a slug as its mascot, I wondered if I had missed something.

"We had the Banana Slug." He didn't crack a smile. I, of course, chortled.
"A Banana Slug? How did that get picked?" Honestly, I really didn't know much about slugs. I assumed they were like the snails I used to toss against the wall in the backyard behind the orange tree.
"They are everywhere and they are kinda fun."
"Fun? How can a slimy creature be fun?"
"Well, I suppose we made them fun by dressing our mascot up in a tie-dye shirt. But, that's how it is at UC Santa Cruz. We embrace the weird."
Weird, was right. The mascot looked more like an alien than a slimy banana with yellow-tipped tentacles and googly eyes. I did admit the alien in a tie-dye shirt was rockin' it.

The rest of the group had normal mascots like ducks, bears, or cartoon characters. Everyone wanted to know more about the slugs. A pretty effective recruiting tool for the university.

Copyright © 2019 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Border
Steemit Amazon RSS

Wordsmith Holler


Border

Sort:  

I would fit in perfectly St that school, cuz I'm sloooooo...

🌳Uncle Bruni leafing today's prompt 🌳
Power_House_Creatives_Logos_FINAL.png
MomentCam_20190411090607.gif
Power_House_Creatives_Logos_FINAL.png
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-538-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-shade

Posted using Partiko Android

Sometimes you have to embrace yourself with a pot of tea. I wrote today's conversation with you in mind: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wordymouth/100-degrees-in-the-shade

I had to Google that to find out if you were stringin' us along. But it's all true! I am properly astonished.

I honestly thought the same thing when Michael Green told me about his days at Santa Cruz. I thought there is no way a school would have a slimy critter as its mascot. I was wrong. And these were the days before Google; I had to find an encyclopedia.

Banana slug!.. It's pretty inventive and cool. I guess it's because i like weird. 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60212.78
ETH 2902.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42