A Day of Rest

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)

Day 131: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: solitude


Prompt by @mariannewest. Words by @wordymouth.

alt

She walked passing only a few other couples on their way down.

She smiled, waved, and appropriately nodded. Not too bad for a Tuesday. There could be more people on the trail.

In the canopy, the limbs bustled together in a shallow breeze. At her level, the ground, rocks, and ferns stayed perfectly still. Everything was so green. She listened for a sound. Hearing none, she made some noise grinding off a rock with her boot.

Off trail, a large Douglas Pine lay on its side covering the last melt of snow and ice. A Carpenter ant wandered the bare surface climbing over the beetle tracks exposed in the wood by erosion. It carried a bit of seed over the pine. She waited for it to pass over the side, then sat down on the wood.

She looked across the forest floor to the far side of the canyon where a waterfall fell into a green pool. She breathed in slowly. Then she breathed out. The cathedral of solitude gave her rest.

alt

Thanks for reading. Leave me a comment.

alt


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://wordsmithholler.com/a-day-of-rest/

Sort:  

Good piece of work, every part of her surroundings are well expressed in a poetic manner :)

I had a creative writing teacher tell me once that I was too poetic for her class and I should take up poetry. So, I'll take your comment as a complement. I try to paint a picture!

beautiful relaxing story!!
Loved it!!

Great detail in your writing, the douglas pine and ant part was excellent, and I loved the last line "The cathedral of solitude gave her rest"

I'm glad you liked the ending. I so need a vacation. Perhaps that is showing?

Don't we all... Whoever decided that the work week is 5 days, and the weekend 2, should be shot.. They got it back to front... 2 day work week, and 5 day weekend is how it should be :o) Then none of us would need vacations..

A beautifully written piece. Nice work.
Warm greetings from your Wednesday free write encourager here with today’s prompt; https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-132-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-gardening

I went at it like Hemingway this morning. Just a ramble: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wordymouth/day-132-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-gardening. Thanks for the reminder.

Oh wow! That resonated so strongly with the feeling I've had on hikes before, that point where your brain lets go and you see the world as it actually is, instead of through the lens of technology and schedules and so on. Really beautiful I actually felt my body relaxing reading this.

I think I was in the same spot. I can't find the photo, but I have that ant crawling across the old log. It's amazing how our brains can take us back to a place. Thanks for reading.

This was very Visual and I enjoyed it very much. I can just see the track at the carpenter ant and the waterfall. This is my kind of place! Nice job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98