Day 132: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: gardening

in #freewrite6 years ago

DQmbgmGCJubbKJ17Jct8tE1Tq9gqwb7btqjGES4jhJceQS5.jpg

This a ramble on the prompt gardening. Oh, I have so much to do. The dogs threw all the rocks covering the dirt in the backyard making it look more like the Craters of the Moon than a backyard. I will rake those up later covering up their barking paths. Then I must look at the planters. The daisy-like flowers seem bigger than summer, which makes no sense because winter came this year. The February freeze hit the jasmine hard; I may need to replant those along the wall.

Gardening allows me to dig in the dirt, sweat out my tensions, and think about summer. In the desert, we worry about saving water. I will have to make sure my drip irrigation still sends water in the right places.

My rose garden needs the most work. However, it will be worth it when the first yellow rose blooms next to my favorite chair.

Sort:  

However, it will be worth it when the first yellow rose blooms next to my favorite chair.

Flowers are so happy and always worth it!!

Great freewrite!!

Good freewrite . That little happiness we get when all our hard work finally pays off could not be explained in words . I could feel immense happiness in your last statement :)

You and me both - there is heaps to do!! Still, every time I get out there it is total therapy and I wonder why I don't do more! Let us know when the yellow roses bloom (slip it into a freewrite yay)!

I am so looking forward to spring and new growing things. Even moreso for my husband who THRIVES on being outside and getting things to grow (I can't seem to grow anything green!)

Fabulous free-flow freewrite!

@byn

I won't deliver the freewrite prompt of the day to you, since I have a pretty good idea that you'll already have it! ;)

I have given up on traditional gardening on my land, which I have determined to be mostly fill dirt lol. If I was strong and healthy I would rebuild a spot, but instead I'm going to try and make my gardening easier by building raised beds with greenhouse like covers for each one. I have the plan laid out in my head and I have a huge yard to fill, now all that I need is for cryptos to make me rich so that I can afford all of the supplies lol.

I live in the desert so the soil is sand and it gets hot around April, so I’m at a loss most of the time. I looked at some grow pots that take your idea to the patio. I’m going to try them this year.

It sounds like you need the raised beds like me, you can build them with built-in watering systems and they are very water conservative anyway. I've been trying pots and 5 gal buckets with fair results. There are a lot of great videos on youtube with ideas for almost any kind of soil and weather conditions. With a raised bed you can build it and then fill it with good soil, you can raise a lot of stuff in a 4X8' or 4X10' space. You can make them longer or shorter, but most people that I've seen do 4' wide because that is about as far as you can reach to comfortable weed or harvest your crop. You can also cut slots in 55 gal barrels and plant something in each slot, I've seen a few videos about that. 🙂

Another thought, you might consider building a cistern to collect water during the rainy season and then use out of it during the dry part of the Summer to water your plants.

I purchased some raised beds and I'm going to run drip irrigation to them. This is what I constructed last year, but it didn't hold it. My new plan to use a sturdier material and run the drip lines behind the plants by snaking the lines next to the plants. IMG_2796.JPG

Good deal, I like to experiment and try new ideas also. 👍

Are you in the desert - desert?

I'm near the Spring Mountains, so the microclimate is more upper desert. Las Vegas is at the northern tip of the Mojave Desert. I have Joshua Trees up the road.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13