The answering machine

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170831_210500.jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-70-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-surprise-coming-to-you

I still have a home phone because I use it for my alarm system.

I also have an answering machine on my home line so my phone doesn't ring forever.

I never answer that line and I hardly ever listen to the messages on the machine, I usually just delete them.

I just got home from Christmas vacation and decided to listen to the messages. Most of them were hang ups but the I got one message that said "surprise coming to you" then they hung up.

I go to get the mail and there is a padded envelope with a return address from Virginia, the State, not the name.

I open the padded envelope and find a silver skull and Certificate of Authenticity and a cute little box, inside.

I then remembered that I had entered a raffle back before Thanksgiving and I had won the first prize. Take about a surprise. 💀

Sort:  

Steep skull

Will's Attic does some kick a** work. It's my first piece from him.

The picture didn't load at first because my mom's internet is slow as snot on a cold day, so I thought there was going to be something a bit more scary in the envelope! That skull is totally amazing, though!

You thought I was gonna throw another cockroach story on here, didn't you?

SOOOOOOOOOOOO COOOOL!!!
what a great surprise!!!
Thanks for sharing!!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wonderwop to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow! That sure was a nice surprise! Over 3 oz of .999 fine silver and a serial number...congratulations! : )

That was an awesome surprise! It's another reason that I love this platform. You never know what's going to happen next!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44