Austin Concours Delegance 1979

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

xkebonnet.jpg

Back in 1979, I belonged to the Jaguar Club of Austin and they had a yearly car show. I had never entered my 1967 Jaguar XKE 2+2, but this year they were going to be short on entries.

xke.jpg

So I decided to enter my car in the daily driver class, as it wasn't as much work to prepare the engine compartment for judging. I left San Antonio friday night, as the show was early in the morning. I stayed at a my brothers house so he could help me in the morning.

xkeopen.jpg

We got up early in the morning, parked the car in position at the show, and started polishing the exterior. After judging, I ended up winning runner-up in the driven class.

IMG_20180305_000735.jpg

I was getting ready to take my brother home, started my car, and the fan belt broke. Good thing there were about a dozen Jaguar mechanics at the show, to help me get back on the road.

IMG_20180305_000856.jpg

I miss that car more than any other, I've owned.

Story and photos by Bruni

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-136-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-belt

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpg@fireawaymarmotU5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

Sort:  

Hey @wonderwop, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

Old cars have my heart. I was born to live centenary's ago. Love the post, keep steeming on and have a great day!

Thanks for narration. The photo blends made it more colorful.

Meanwhile here is today's prmpt from @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-137-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-witches

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76