Day 650: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday-Prompt: creature

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 650: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Thursday-Prompt: creature

Prehistoric Looking Creature

I love my back yard because so many interesting insects visit me there. I call it my "insect pub" which was @brisby's idea. Don't you just love that name? One early evening I saw a big one on the outside of my window. I couldn't believe my eyes while examining this prehistoric looking creature. It is the most scariest bug I have ever seen. Just look at that cogwheel with sharp teeth. And when I saw that huge, sharp fang I backed away quickly knowing it was a dangerous bug.

Notice how I said bug and not insect. That fang told me it was a "True Bug" with a piercing, sucking mouth part. True bugs use their fangs to paralyze their victims and kill them; then they suck the juices out. You don't want that fang going into you because the pain is 10 times worse than being stung by a hornet.

The name of this true bug is Wheel Bug, of course! One that will be turning the wheels of my mind forever.

Now for my shameless plug. Every Thursday I have an SBI Giveaway called, "Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway." You post your own butterfly or insect photos, or art work for a chance to win SBI shares. You can read all about it here if interested. Hope to see you at my Insect Pub.

All photos are my own.

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the chance to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

I have only one word to say and that's UGH!

That is what I said too and gross!

oh my! that is one ugly sucker. But you love that kind of thing showing up in your backyard right? So I should be happy for you. lol.

HaHa! It sure is one ugly sucker. Yes, I loved seeing it and yes, you should be happy for me. Look, don't touch. LOL!

How big was that thing? if it was in Texas it would be about 3 inches long!

1 1/2 inches long. Not as big if it was in Texas but too big for me!!!

Oh that's big for a creepy thing like that! yikes. Yeah we could not believe our eyes when we saw how big some of the ants and spiders were down here! Ants an inch long and spiders 4 inches across.

No way!!! I am petrified of spiders so I just can't imagine. Shivers! EEEK!

It was startling at first until locals told us that the big ones we were seeing are very helpful and not to kill them. Oops, I had already kilt a bunch of them but now we don't. The other day we went to look at a building in the country and it had at least 30 of those giant spiders in huge webs all over the front and side of the building, it was so strange and eerie, we'd never seen anything like it. It would give you nightmares!

Spiders can be helpful but I still can't stand them. OMG! That building you were in surely would have given me nightmares. I would have run out of that building screaming!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31