Day 640: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday-Prompt: awry

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 640: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Monday-Prompt: awry

Photo by me @whatisnew

The Robin Fledgling

Mama pushed her last fledgling out of the nest,
The food supply was empty, this was not a test.

The robin fledgling on land below began to cry.
"Mama come help me! I cannot fly!"
She did not come and his life was about to go awry.

Looking for Mama, he jumped through a fence to another yard.
In a blink of an eye, a big monster ran towards him, fast and hard.

He screamed for his life, while the boxer pounced to his left and right.
The fledgling tried with all his might, but he couldn't get into flight.

In the boxer's mouth he was then thrown in the air; now let's be fair,
The boxer thought he was a squeaky toy, not a fledgling robin boy.

His life was saved by Sal the man,
Who happened to be a lifetime bird fan.
A defenseless fledgling that is now called 'Hercules.'
"Chirp, Chirp! Isn't that the bee's knees?"

This poem was inspired by a true story I am writing. If you would like to know more about Hercules, you can read bout him here in "Weekend Of and For The Birds."

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @whatisnew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you! : )

I am so happy he was rescued!
Here is Tuesday’s encouragement from @freewritehouse . PLEASE write us all another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-641-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-swirls-of-cigarette-smoke

Hi @owasco! Thanks for the prompt delivery! : )

YAY! Thanks so much for the Freewrite House power. LOL!

The Freewrite House is my home and I love being the resident cat, and helping members of my family when I can. Sending much love and Hugs!

lol! That is perfect Butterfly! Well done. It's pretty fortunate that Sal is an experienced bird lover too. But how do you know the boxer thought it was a toy?

Thanks jonboy for your kind words. : ) We were all at the same place at the right time. I know that the boxer thought it was a squeaky toy because of the way he was acting with it. Pouncing all around it, not barking like he usually does and because he didn't kill it. I have seen the boxer play with his squeaky toys in his yard before. I have also seen him kill huge groundhogs in one bite. You don't want to mess with that boxer. LOL!

Oh ok, so you sit around in your spare time and watch the boxer next door while he murders innocent animals. I get it. That gives me a much clearer picture of your real personality. lol!

HaHa! When I am outside I pray that the boxer doesn't kill anything because I don't want to see it. It is just like nature's food chain. I know it must be, but I wish I didn't know about it. And I certainly don't want to witness it.

Yes, I know it's tough to see. Like those nature documentaries on tv that show the lions taking down antelope or some other beautiful animals! We know that is the system for now and it's the painful truth. Luckily we're at the top of the food chain!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56