Day 613: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday- Prompt: library

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 613: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Tuesday-Prompt: library

Source

Going Down the Library Hole

I went to the library about 10 years ago to inquire about something my mom used to say to me after putting me to bed and tightening the covers around my body. It always gave me the shivers with bad images in my head.

I asked the question, "What is the origin of "Good night, sleep tight, don't let the bed bugs bite?"

The librarian was old, a dinosaurian.
She looked like she could be a knowledgeable historian.
Before I got the answer, a woman who looked like a 1920's dancer,
Took me aside and told me she was a Rosarian.
"What the heck is a Rosarian?!?! I was then directed to a Grammarian.
Who then directed me to the children's section, with a large book selection.
I was given a key to an old tattered book with a lock.
Hoping to find my answer, I opened the book of shock,
Not to find pressed roses in poses, but pressed fleas and bed bugs; thugs.
"Thank you mom, for keeping me safe in bed, sending you kisses and hugs!"
I looked up to heaven, and praised my mom times seven.

The Librarian-historian said that beds used to be made of straw and the ropes had to be tied tight to keep the bed firm, for a proper, sound sleep...not to keep the bugs out.

The Rosarian said, "No way! If the ropes were not tight enough, the mattress would fall to the floor, thus allowing the insects to get in."

The Grammarian said, "True bedbugs only live in mattresses. Welcome to the year of bedbugs! Good night, sleep well; do NOT let in the bedbugs from hell."

Are you looking for a place where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Than head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

I’ve heard that expression many times. Sleep tight is to keep the ropes tight. Were they sleeping on a hammock type bed?
Bed bugs have made a resurgence according to what I’ve heard. EeeeK!

Really? I have never heard of it until 10 years ago. My freeewrite was part truth and part fiction, so I don't know if the beds made of straw were the hammock style. Yes, bed bugs came back with a vengeance in 2010. That was part of my freewrite too; last paragraph of what the Grammarian said. Jo, thank you so much for reading and commenting. Sometimes I don't get any comments and it is so embarrassing. Thanks again! Hugs!

Howdy Butterfly! Another great freewrite! The library scene and characters were made up right? lol.

Thanks so much jonboy! Glad yu like it. There was a tiny bit of truth but mostly fiction. : )

Oh I was hoping the characters in the library were real! lol.
what was the real part, you read a book once? lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65170.83
ETH 2568.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66