Congratulations on Day 100 Of Daily Prompts!

in #freewrite6 years ago

Congratulations @mariannewest on your 100th day of Daily Prompts! You built it and we came, in droves. Thank you for all of your hard work, encouragement and for building this amazing freewrite community; this wonderful crazy zoo.

I didn't even know what a freewrite was until I read your post and decided to give it a try. I think everyone remembers their first freewrite. It is similar to your first kiss; nerve-wracking and not knowing how it would turn out, or if it would be accepted. Mine was Day 10: splinter and my first comment came from @snook who told me that I did a great job on my first freewrite. I replied back that I almost didn't post it because I didn't think it was good enough. @snook replied with encouraging words that I will never forget, "There is no good or bad, no right or wrong. Just have fun." Then you, Marianne welcomed me and thanked me for playing. Both of you calmed my nerves and I began to have fun with the rest of my freewrites. It still boggles my mind what freewriters can do with one word or a phrase, and I am always excited to read as many as I can to see where their minds took them with the same word.

Friendships were formed and the freewrite community became my home, in more ways than one thanks to @omra-sky and @snook. Marianne, you are the glue that holds all of us together and thank you for allowing us to be free in every way. Steemit wants creative content and you have brought amazing and endless creativity to this platform.

Just like this dog-day cicada...break out of your shell and be free. This community is open to all. Please join us and have fun!

For those of you who don't know, the beauty of freewriting is that you never know where your mind will take you with each daily prompt and you may end up going on a crazy adventure like I did. I had prior commitments and was not able to do as many as I would have liked. To commemorate this special occasion, I wrote about my adventure with the daily prompts that I used. There is only one rule and that is to use the daily prompt in your writing each day. My freewrites are mostly fiction that started out tame in the beginning, and then they went completely out of control in such a fun way.

MY JOURNEY

My freewrite journey began with a painful splinter that required surgery and then I went to sleep and had the worst nightmare. Next, my crazy nephew's dog, Scooter was flying around on a magic carpet. And with me being a cat, I couldn't pass up writing about a white cat. I drove my kids to a fast food restaurant and my daughter's face was as red as a tomato; I embarrassed her badly, because I gave our dinner order to the trashcan at the dive thru. I explained why the books that I read became empty pages because I could not comprehend what I read. My mind did a dramatic twist when I got the chiggers and the itching drove me mad, and then I ended up on bubbling lava steps that were half frozen; both of which even surprised me. Someone had cast a spell on my Mom that gave her sneezing fits which caused her to lose many a shoe. All of a sudden a mysterious man appeared. He had stuff that would ooze out of his finger that was pricked by a thorn, and he became enraged. A kind old man came to visit; a relative that was losing his senses except for his sense of smell. My great-grandpa's nose took him on a long walk and that was how he met his second wife.

While relaxing at a park, I heard a scream which had me writing a poem about four different screams. Now this is when it began to get crazy. I ended up in a house that was full of hair; cat and dog hair that was kept in jars, and were neatly displayed on shelves by a hoarder. I traveled to Scotland to a medieval castle that was made into a hotel called, Big Wave. The strangest things happened there. Back in the states I wrote about a guy's junk in his trunk and Suzie Rotten Crotch...OMG! I traveled to a different place where I came very close to swimming with the dolphins which was on my bucket list. I came back home to find that the goat ate my elm tree; a sapling, but that was the last straw for that goat named "Billy" and his owner, "Peeping Tom." But I calmed down when I was asked to describe green and I wrote a poem about nature.

I felt compelled to write a story about someone who was pregnant with twins because there were complications. I then found myself driving in a bad storm, ran off the road and ended up in a ditch. When I got out of the car, my shoe got stuck in the mud. I wasn't quite myself that day. Next I was talking about nose hair. I have to admit that I had so much fun writing about nose hair and there was a twist to that one. The next thing you know I saw a big ball of fire in the sky and I began singing, "Great Balls of Fire!" And what a big mess a pill caused on Christmas Eve. You just never know when another freewriter might jump in like @deaconlee did and he turned my 5 minute freewrite into a hilarious story. That was so much fun! On a more serious note, I ended up in a pillow fight which helped me to be the most graceful dancer at the ball. I also became the head analyst which gave me grounding for deciphering the language "Slang" on planet "Derange."

Then I was handed a note that simply stated "Surprise coming to you!" and it sure wasn't what I had hoped for. And the toothache from hell was not something that I liked thinking about. The best decision I ever made was quitting my job because of a callous on my hand. I watched my grandmother sadly reminiscing about her beloved dog "Tootsie" after looking at the lock of her dog hair that she saved. Then I sure did sound like an air-head after talking about all of the different ducks. My MRI was extremely difficult, but all of my freewrite friends were right there for me and helped me to get through it. Marianne was especially helpful by asking the crew to think of a new prompt just for me, and told everyone who gathered around, If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

Next, I wrote a poem about how I floss my tears to preserve happiness in a special flask. From happy to scared, I found myself at a hotel desk waiting for the clerk to give me a room. The clerk was wearing an hourglass shaped nose ring and the ending sure wasn't what was expected. It was fun to meet a high school music teacher who did a catchy sound check and had the audience dancing. I then went for a walk and found myself lost in a maze made from the maize in a corn field. And never, in my wildest dreams would I have ever thought that @snook and I would become stranded on the sofa like whales, with a plankton's indigestion. I met two children who became best friends and were married 14 years later. And when I returned to high school after summer break, I was no longer flat as a board and was told that I had blossomed. I was missing my beloved cat, JB and I reminisced about his kiss which was a very special gift that he gave to me every morning for ten years. And I sure was happy with my new glasses that put my life in focus. Finally, I had a blast with a bowl of chocolate candy that I used for sweet revenge.

Thank you Marianne, for sending me on this wonderful, imaginative journey that I would have never taken if it wasn't for you. Oh, the power of freewrites!

Image Source: Dog-day Cicada is mine and the Gifs were provided by @snook.

Sort:  

It seems to be our pattern that @snook is faster than me! :)
Thank you so much for this wonderful tribute to this freewriting adventure. I never imagined on day one that we would have such an amazing journey in just 100 days!!
I truly feel that we have become friends and that I could call on many of you as you can on me - for just about anything.!!
Thank you so much for diving into this adventure and for being the resident cat!!
Much love 😘

It sure has been an amazing journey and one I will never forget. Yes, we are friends and if you ever need anything, please let me know and I will do what I can if I am able. I love being the resident cat...meow...it is so much fun and an honor! Thanks again Marianne...for everything! I will never, ever forget what you have done for me and I hope that one day I will be able to return the favor. Looking forward to the next 100 prompts (((((@mariannewest))))) Hugs and love! : ) : ) : )

This was so very special to me, I'm with @snook I slowed down reading because I didn't want it to end! You are so amazing and a wonderful part of our team, what a journey we are all on together. 👏 👏 💐

Aw, thanks so much for your kind words. You know that I never want your stories to end. You and your talent are amazing and I couldn't be happier to be on this journey with all of you. Singing..."We Are Family!" Hugs! : )

You have me in tears...........brb

You are the most beautiful soul I have ever met. Your sweetness is something very lost these days. Your story above gave me chills and I wanted to read it slower and slower so it would not end........just like I do with a very wonderful book. ✿

You were the first person that gave me a Tip! when I didn't know what one was LOLL and I wasn't sure if I should say Thank You or not LOLL

You always make me smile and laugh when I need a boost and for THAT my friend I thank YOU so much!!

You have shown me how little things in life that you do carry on even after you are gone..........so to make sure those things you do are GOOD things to be remembered for. For THAT I am in your debt. ✿

You and your nature photo's are a thing so sweet and I always am amazed at the things you know and look up for those posts.

You always carry yourself with grace and thankfulness in everything you do even when we just met.

Thank YOU so much for coming into my life through the freewriters.

Oh and those were happy, touched, heartfelt tears........and tonight I will go to sleep and dream of your beautiful story that is free yet so real to me. **Many Many Hugs" ✿

Your comment (short story) is the most wonderful and sweet one that I have ever received and you have made me so happy!!!!! You have made me feel so warm and cuddly inside and I wish you could have seen my expressions while I was reading this. My eyes kept getting bigger and bigger and the aws kept coming. You are such a sweetheart. Thank you ever so much...I appreciate you and value our friendship. I am at a loss for words and no matter what I say will never come close to your beautiful song...it was music to my ears. Many Many hugs right back at ya @snook! : ) : ) : )

You are very welcome ✿ hugs

and your story might have to be a nightly thing for me to read. I slept like a baby LOLLL
Thank You for that!!

You had me so flabbergasted that I forgot to thank you for the tip...shame on me! HaHa! : )

@whatisnew I like you language. I have fun reading your freewrite. And you seem to have fun while writing stories).

Aw, thank you for reading my freewrites and I am so happy to hear that they are fun for you; that really does make me happy! : ) I do have fun writing stories and it is nice that you can see that! Give it a try...we would love to have you join us! : )

Dear feline friend, thank you for your heartfelt words.. they made me live again our amazing journey through this 100 creative and colorful words. I'm so happy to be with you sharing this adventure that i feel like dancing a tip! tap 😉 Oh by the way we discovered that the discord chat background may be set in white.. I hope we can meet there one day!

Hello to my Italian friend! Thank you for your kind words. This adventure that we have all been on is much more fun; doing it together with friends like you. Thanks so much for you fun tip tap dance...you know how much I love your words. Yes, Marianne told me about discord and I am so excited! Thanks for keeping me in mind. I will try it in a week or 2 because I have so many important appointments until then. See you on the next phase of our journey! Hugs! : )

You're always very important to me, even if sometimes I'm not in steemit a lot and I can't post or comment like others. I was sad that you couldn't chat with all of us.. I'll look forward for meeting you, it's simply great!! 😁

I feel the same way about you too. Hugs (((((f3nix))))). I wish I had more time to be here too. Can't wait to hang out with you on discord soon! : )

awwa I love your gifs!!! Love that the hat and bow tie are pink too!!! I remember a lot of your freewrites, especially the MRI. So glad we could all help you through it! Thanks for sharing.

Aren't those gifs adorable? And I will never forget your Fish Song. Thank you for being there for me through that difficult time. See you on phase 2 of this fun journey! Hugs! : )

OMG! I can't believe it! Thanks to @ecoinstant and thanks to YOU, as I am sure you had something to do with all of this. You have no idea how happy this has made me!!! I feel like I just won the lottery! It means so much that you are proud of me...you are the 3rd person that has told me that in my whole life. Thanks again @snook! Love and HUGS!!! : ) : ) : )

Nope! My son found your post all on his own young lady!!! I had nothing to do with it!!! :D :D :D

BUT he does have very good taste!!! and I was so HAPPY and proud of him for picking your post!!! I just wish I would have thought of it! HA!

Sooooo it's ALL YOU!!! <3 You are just going to have to except that you are wonderful hugs and not just to me! LOLLL

You are so sweet and always know what to say to make us all feel so happy, fuzzy and warm. Thanks my friend. : )

Thanks to @ecoinstant, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

OMG! Thank you so much for the honor!!! I am flabbergasted and you have made me so very happy! I am truly grateful to you @sneakyninja, @ecoinstnat, and @mariannewest for the amazing and fun #freewrite community! Thank you once again! : ) : ) : )

Hi @whatisnew! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @snook :)

@snook wrote lately about: My Brain~ Day 101 Freewrite. Feel free to follow @snook if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69345.27
ETH 3816.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67