5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday-Prompt: hardboiled minds

in #freewrite6 years ago

5 Minute Freewrite Challenge iniatiated by @mariannewest. Sunday-Prompt: hardboiled minds

There is a group of 3 friends with different personalities. Trish is a soft-hearted, caring person always wanting to lend a helping hand. Lolita is a happy-go-lucky person but scrambled, and it can be difficult to keep up with her. She talks in circles and never finishes a sentence before going on to a different topic. And then there is Henrietta; what can I say about her. There is a lot I would like to say but I will refrain. Let me just say that she is heartless and cruel; you know...the likes of those with hardboiled minds.

Trish had baked sweet rolls one day and after she got ready for bed, she decided to take some to Henrietta who lived next door. Trish's hair was down and not pulled back in a tidy bun as usual, and her false teeth had been removed for the night. After knocking on Henrietta's door, she opened the door and the first words out of her mouth were, "What the hell happened to you! With your hair down and no teeth, you look just like a mean old witch!" (Takes one to know one.) Trish still handed her the sweet rolls and Henrietta didn't even thank her for her kindness.

Body and mind are one. And the one thing that keeps that body and mind alive is the heart. If you know the person's heart, you will know their mind.

Image Source: en.wikipedia.org

Sort:  

What amazes me is that could be a real life story and how people who are so nice often have "friends" who walk all over them - probably because they are so nice and are not setting any limits...

You are right because I was talking about 2 of my neighbor's. And Trish (not her real name) isn't the kind to take any crap off of anyone! Henrietta (not her real name either) actually said that to Trish one night. Trish was more hurt than upset. Who in the heck would want a friend like mean 'ole Henrietta?

Wow, what self control that Trish has. To just say those 5 words and walk away. I'd have thrown the rolls on the ground and said "these were for you, but now you can just eat them dirty, to go along with your filthy heart."

That would have been a good response. LOL! Thanks for stopping by. : )

You're welcome. It was very funny to read that. Makes me think about how I would have handled the situation in her shoes, lol. People tell me I need to control my temper. I say "I control it quite well, can't you see?" Lol.

Awwa. That is sweet :) I liked this freewrite.

Thanks so much; glad you liked it! : )

I read this nice story. And I faced new phrase for me. To talk in circles. I want to memorize it.

Thanks for your compliment and happy to hear that you like "talk in circles." Something to remember me by. LOL! : )

Great job on this tough prompt. Hope those sweet rolls tasted good, those might be the last ones she gets. 🤔

Thanks for you encouragement @wonderwop! She probably ate those sweet rolls with a big smile on her face as she grumbled about Trish. LOL! : )

The moral of this story is that if you look like a wicked witch, someone might just tell you the truth and then treat you like a wicked witch. 😮

Love the moral of the story! : )

Toc! Toc! I'm the little monday Marianne's Helper. There's a new prompt for you:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-102-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-paint

...I hope the sweet rolls were stuffed with purgative ;)

I am belly laughing so hard thanks to your perfect comment! Hilarious! : )

GREAT story and moral!!!

I will make sure to put my teeth back in if I ever answer the door LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

kidding for anyone thinking I don't have all my teeth LOLLLLLLLLL

Thank YOU for the laugh!!

Yes, make sure to do that! LOL!

Thank YOU! : )

I was imagining young ladies and then was surprised by the teeth.

No more bread for Henrietta!

I bet that was quite a shock for you! LOL!

No more anything for mean 'ole Henrietta! Thanks for stopping by! : )

Oh heaven - had a story planned in my head, didn't write it yet, and now if I do it will look as if I stole your idea! I.e., I love your story @whatisnew. My story (lodged in my head, unwritten): the daughter who bakes an apple pie for Dad, thinking "I did something right today!" - only to have it backfire, as always, because in Dad's eyes, she does nothing right. ("Where did you get the apples...")
Hmmm. Maybe it's different enough from yours, I wouldn't be suspected of lifting the idea from you.
(This happens, people. If you wait too long, someone else might write a story like the one you held onto!)

Go ahead and write it! Nobody will think that you stole the idea. Please do write it. I never read other freewrites until after I post mine because I don't want theirs lodged in my mind before I write. And yes...yours is different from mine. Either way, please write it! Thanks for stopping by @carolkean! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52