A mother's love

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

"want some jam tomorrow morning honey?" Maggie said to her son

"No mum, I want some now," he cried

"But you already had some tonight, you shouldn't take too much", she added lovingly.

Mark fumbled with his "Captain America" toy furiously.

His mother tried to tuck him in but he wouldn't allow her. She kissed him goodnight and left his room.

Mark laid on his bed,still angry at his mother and thinking of a way to get more jam.

An hour later, he peeped outside his room and saw the lights were out in her room. She must be asleep, he thought. He sneaked past her room and walked towards the staircase

A millisecond and a missed step, he came tumbling down the staircase with a loud thud.

The sound woke his mom and she got up to check the house, she saw him lying face down,blood stains on the staircase. She almost collapsed at the horror in front of her. She dashed to his side,crying and calling out his name.

Mark could see her mouth moving, but he couldn't hear her and his vision got blurrier. His consciousness wilting away.....


He woke up at the hospital to see his mum by his side, her face reddened from the tears.

"I am sorry, mom."

She looked up to see her son's eyes opened. She smiled and moved closer to him.She kissed him and smiled again. She was grateful for his life.Grateful!

image

picture source: pixabay
prompt: jam tomorrow

Just dropping yesterday's prompt

Written for @mariannewest and @freewritehouse daily free writes. Join the free writers, lots of Steen and SBIs to be won.

THANKS FOR READING!!!

Sort:  

this is truly every mother's nightmare!! And kids so often do not listen! It is hard to be a mom - and it never ends. We even worry about our adult kids :(

So true.
My mother told me I was an handful when I was little, I would cry day and night. I wouldn't allow any one pick me up except her. And because I cried so much, I was always running fever so they visited the clinic regularly.

Even i was shocked at the revelation. I wouldn't stand little me😭

That is funny! that you wouldn't stand little me. But there is nothing worse than a sick child. The worries can tear your heart apart! I am glad that you are not crying day and night anymore - or run fevers for that matter 😄

You just described my little sister, youngest of five girls all hardly more than a year apart in age. "Never," I said, would I hold a baby all day to keep her from crying. You guessed it: I got one just like my sister. And I held her while stirring hot chili on the stove, carried her everywhere...and it wasn't fever or illness that made her such a stick-tight! She grew up to be incredibly independent and in no need of Mom. 😭

so he will get jam now for the rest of his life as much as he likes?

Ps I see the first part of your story twice

Lol, he surely would.

And thank you, made corrections to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82