Banana: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Banana, before:
bananabefore.jpg

It is a curious thing, how one can take something that seems nearly useless, and repurpose it so that it has new life. You can't see it so much in the photo, but those bananas are practically goners. While it's true that I tend to enjoy a greener banana, these fellas were full-on mush. I doubt that even a lover of ripe nanners would have enjoyed them.

But I didn't pitch them. I took the inspiration-- both from the freewrite topic, and from the overripe fruit-- to make fresh banana bread. And then, having leapt over the barrier to entry to my kitchen, I made yogurt parfaits for the week's breakfasts, and layered salad jars for lunches, and then sliced and baked sweet potato 'toast' to enjoy with lox and capers for snacking.

Sometimes what seems too far gone is, in fact, just in need of a little love. There's life in the ol' girl yet.

Banana, after:
bananaafter.jpg

For the daily freewrite, and the 200 day contest.

Sort:  

I want to hear more about that sweet potato toast!!

I believe it's a staple of Paleo cooking (though I don't subscribe to that or any particular diet.) Mostly I'm looking to include more whole foods in my diet, so I follow this basic recipe, slicing a sweet potato into about 5 "toasts" and baking them for 15 minutes. Then I let them cool and refrigerate them. When I'm ready for toast, I pop a slice into our toaster oven (a slotted toaster also works.) Once they're crispy and warm, I top them with whatever I'd put on toast or a bagel. For me, this week, it's a little cream cheese with lox and capers. Hits the spot!

Sometimes what seems too far gone is, in fact, just in need of a little love.

I loved this line! I feel like it can apply in so many places! I also loved your before and after selfies!

Thank you! I had a bunch of things in mind as I wrote it, too.

Mmm that looks delicious. I'm hungry now :)) And I agree with Marianne, the sweet potato toast sounds great :D

I just saw you already did today's freewrite, so no need for the prompt :D

You are so right -- never throw away soft, very ripe bananas. We can be made into many things. We are the most versatile of fruits! Perhaps we are prejudiced, but we loved this post.
~The Banana Collective 🍌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01