Touch the Sky- Day 46: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Touch the Sky

20171124_171547.jpg

I stepped inside the four seater Cherokee 180 airplane for the first time and soaked in the intimate atmosphere like a hungry child. How did I get so lucky to get a chance to fly again?
When the plane began to coast I felt the building excitement of trying something new, this time with someone who I felt a kinship with the sky. I listened and watched the dials and air/ground communication with a fascination of all that it took to get off the ground.

In minutes I watched the ground grow smaller as our wings brushed the air and I was hooked.

We talked quietly while watching the sun set over the clear horizon. Were we really that high to see its fullness and beauty?

I turned to look left and right, not wanting to miss anything and as the darkness settled around us I felt the quiet freedom and listened to just the engine hum.

Suspended between earth and heaven I could have sat that way for hours.

Hitting ground only made my hunger grow to go back up to touch the sky.

This is my 5 Minute Freewrite hosted by @mariannewest. Come and join the challenge daily!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-46-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-airplane

logo.jpg

Logo by @KingLeo47

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are execptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

Logo by @KingLeo47

wandrnrose7_blue-1.png

Sort:  

"'Scuse Me, While I Kiss The Sky"!!!

-Jimi Hendrix

That expresses it just perfectly! <3 Much love!

<3<3<3
Edited my post for proper attribution ;)

<3

Great written, I like this free writing idea. I might try it too. Do you ever get blocks when you write 5 mins or does the words just come out while you write?

Thank you so much, I really enjoy doing these and for me the five minutes goes very swiftly and I have to make sure that I stop in time because once that channel is open it seems to keep producing in me. I know that some people struggle with filling up the 5 minutes but for me 5 minutes flies. Please do jump on and try it, you'll be surprised at what comes out! Much love!

The picture is so beautiful! Everyone should experience something like that at least once in their lives.

Thank you very much for stopping and commenting. It was indeed an incredible experience and I hope to do so again soon. But even if I never got to this one time will be in the special forever. ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

written so well we feel we are on the plane with you

Superb

I was hoping that some way I could convey the emotion of that flight. I have flown many times before on Commercial planes, but this private airplane very small with an intimate cabin lens a whole different air to the flight. You can look out the window and see the stars and see the sunset and it is just marvelous. Thank you for commenting and I'm glad that you enjoyed it as much as I did!

You did portray emotion so very well 👍

<3 Yay! More to come!

Looking forward to them

AWESOME!!!!@wandrnrose my sister, star...I say star because I am such a fan, every time I see your name I say to myself. It's going to be good...And with this post, you did not disappoint. As I read I curled up and got comfortable. I hope you consider writing a book someday because from you I want to read more. Loving You Much...

Your comment is so inspiring... I am thrilled to hear that you enjoy and you look for my name. I have been a wannabe writer most of my life and steemit is really bringing this out in me with the different challenges that are being presented. The prompts are great for me because it pushes me beyond my normal comfort zone to produce something that is relevant. Keep watching and maybe someday I will write that book! I will make sure that you get a copy if I do!

This is such a great initiative! I love reading all the freewrites! :-) Semi-structure is nice. It's always easier to get started writing when someone else gives a prompt! :-) Cheers! <3 Hope you are warm and bright!

Thank you for stopping by and commenting, the freewrite is a great way to open up your creative juices. I hope you will consider stopping in and trying your hand at it!
We have a big snowstorm coming on its way... I'm a little bit nervous to drive to work the hour commute. But at least I have Friday off!

Stay safe! Take care!

Thank you so much! The snow has not started yet it's supposed to start around 1 p.m. and all I have to do is drive home... They have downgraded the amount of snow we're supposed to get so I may get just a little bit. That is a relief!

my brother and my husband used to fly small airplanes - me - I get dizzy at hights even if my feet are on the ground and get motion sick very quickly
Small airplane =misery lol
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-48-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-describe-green

I know that not everyone can fly... I'm sorry you can't enjoy it... But I'm sure there's something that you are equally passionate about! I enjoy it very much my freedom meter goes way up when I get in a plane. I'm excited to travel anytime anywhere, and I think that I have met a person who I will enjoy exploring this world with. Thank you for linking me the new link!

Very cool, so maybe a dumb question after the post, but are you a pilot?

Thank you for stopping in reading and commenting. No I am not a pilot... My new beau is a hobby pilot. He has been flying since he was 14 and owns this little plane.

That had to be breathtaking!

I would have been scared to death on a plane that small loll

Thank you for making me smile :D your joy shown through in your story!

I'm glad you like my memory. I don't know why I'm not afraid, but not even a little bit. My curiosity and adventurous streak overcomes any fear I may have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31