The Many - Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The Many

I imagine a world without cancer. I would still have my grandparents on my Mom's side were it not for cancer. My best friend's son, Christopher, who died of brain cancer at the very young age of 21 would still be alive. My other best friend would not have endured years of cancer related treatments and the loss of a breast, as well as suffered multiple surgeries including a hysterectomy, if it were not for cancer.

My cousin would not be suffering from any ill effects from cancer that metastasized and became lung cancer and skin cancer.

I am not a fan of cancer or the cancer gene, and I have a healthy fear of it, just like everyone else.

When I was in my 30s I had a close call with cancer. I had precancerous cells, fortunately they were found and eradicated it before they became the real thing.

I do what I must under the preventive care on my insurance. Yearly I get a mammogram. I've had a couple of scares and two surgeries but only had to have two cysts removed, they were non-cancerous.

Last year I had my first routine preventive colonoscopy. I came out with clean bill of health. My next routine colonoscopy is in 9 years.

Everyday I talk to cancer patients or their family members checking up on their claims because I work in the health field. I have learned more than I have ever cared to know about this dreadful disease. It's funny, but these people who are suffering from cancer are the least likely to complain about their insurance deductible or out of pocket because they know just how much the insurance is paying and how expensive each medication via oral or injection at the doctor or Hospital costs.

It is true, our bodies do not live forever. We are eventually going to leave this earth one way or another, but suffering from cancer, or having to endure radiation and chemotherapy and all that this treatment entails, is something that I pray that I will never experience first-hand and something that I pray that my family and friends, also, will be spared from.

My grandparents died of lung cancer related to smoking. I was a smoker off and on for many years and quit for good when I was 46. My best friend was never a smoker and got breast cancer during her change of life because of the hormones bike that was not detected. Her breast cancer is directly related to these hormones spikes.

What do we do about cancer? I contribute when I'm able to towards research, but the need is immeasurable. It would be wonderful if the cure for cancer could be found. I fear that because cancer is such big business that possible cures have been swept under the rug and preference for the financial gain to the economy and pharmaceutical companies. Perhaps my opinion is just an opinion, or perhaps there are some basis to this speculation. There was a man in Erie, Pennsylvania who came up with some kind of cancer a cure in his research. The doctor died... and so did the discussions about this miracle cure.

This is my 5 minute freewrite.
Here is the link for today's prompt:
cancer

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking *referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

I agree with you that cures are most likely pushed under the rug. For example the genome project of a decade or so ago. If I remember right, they'd found the gene for breast cancer and if they can do that it seems switching it on and off is an option. Might be hearsay, but I also heard that pharm bought certain genes and then there are all of the moral questions, such as finding the "gay," gene and whether or not parents opposed to having a gay child would pay to have the gene switched?
Sorry you've lost so many to this insidious disease. Like you, I hope I never have to face the treatments or long suffering.

I just wish the human race were more moral and capable of using the knowledge gained by science ethically. :( thank, Kim.

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Thank you for visiting!

You've certainly highlighted the complications of cancer and capitalism. Ugh!

:( unfortunately so.

To lighten things up, I hope you'll give today's prompt a sniff:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-278-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-dog-breath

Thank you for the prompt. <3

And that is the sad story - it is a big business....

Way too big business. :(

I don't think an FDA-approved cure for cancer will ever be found, because there is too much money to be made in research and current treatments. Another possibility is the person who would have found the cure for cancer was aborted years ago. I often think about all the people with talent and skills and creativity that have been lost forever because of abortion.

I must agree wholeheartedly with you and share your grief.

.... sadly, money rules the world. I'm glad I gave up smoking. I can't remember how long ago that was, which must be a good thing.

My Auntie died at 42 through smoking related lung cancer. That is far too young.

I'm glad, too. Both of my parents were smokers. My father quit after a heart attack, Mom never did.

"the scare". I feel you, from time to time.

<3 it's never a pleasant sensation.

Yes. Never. Maybe you can share your diet. I was always looking for someone who have the same risks anything that could prevent that dreaded cancer, is a must try.

Cance is a horrible disease and it has claimed too many people close to me, including my husband. With all the money being poured into cancer research I am sure that they have come up with some cures, but pharmaceuticals are big business feeding the government coffers, so until something changes drastically we will continue to lose people we love to the scourge they call cancer.

You hit the nail on the head. :( hugs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51