The Invitation - Day 9 Freewrite Selfie Contest

in #freewrite6 years ago

The Invitation

"Of course I'll come! I've never been to a monkey's wedding before!"

"It will be a small affair, " Harold said, "just close family and friends, about 1000 monkeys."

"That's small??"

Harold's eyebrows rose slightly, accenuating his wrinkles.

"Well of course, 1000 is probably the smallest wedding you're going to see in our family!"

"What should I wear?"

"Well, we're all going to be wearing our birthday suits, you can wear whatever you want."

Instinctively, I cross my arms across my chest.

"Can I bring my boyfriend?"

"Is he animal friendly?"

"Why yes, I think he's okay. We do like a go to zoos."

Harold made a growly "harumph"

"Just make sure not to offend any of the matriarchs! They can get a little bit salty, if you know what I mean!"

I shifted in my seat on the log.

"What kind of wedding present do you think I should bring?"

"Food is always good, how about a case of bananas?"

He grinned broadly and took a bite from a huge bunch of bananas at his feet.

"Can I bring my children?"

"Oh my, yes, all of the apes will be coming along. There's going to be childcare. Some of the adolescent girls will be along. We have a special spot in the jungle for the children. Somebody will take care of them all, just pack a bag!"

"Maybe we'll get a sitter," I thought out loud.

Harold spit out a piece of banana peel.

"Who is going to perform the ceremony?"

"My brother! He's been in the Seminary for the last 20 years."

"I can't wait to see the bride! Will she be wearing a veil?"

"Yes, she will probably make it out of flowers and vines from the jungle. It shall be glorious time!"

"Okay, we will plan on being there. Where can we stay?"

Harold pointed with one long finger towards a row of caves on the corner. There should be plenty of space up there!"

I hid a shudder from him.

"Oh, well maybe we'll make arrangements to fly back home after the wedding. Count us in! You know you're my favorite monkey's uncle."

20180522_200938.jpg

This is my 5 minute freewrite hosted by @mariannewest. This one took about 20 minutes. The prompt is fingers Day 9 Freewrite Selfie Contest

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively frreewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

rose_new.jpg

Logo by @Bembelmaniac

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

What good your Freewrite of today: short, very entertaining until funny and with a perfect synchronization in the wording and in the sequence that follows the description. I congratulate you @ wandrnrose7. Greetings.

The brother who will perform the ceremony is arriving (lol)

Haha! That is so cute! Thank you for bringing him!!

Yes! Bananas makes a great wedding gift for monkey ceremonies and they're a good source of potassium. 😉

Haha! I figured that we can't go wrong by bringing bananas LOL. thanks for stopping by and reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84