The Hunter and the Hunted - Day 160:5 Minute Freewrite Poetry

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The Hunter and the Hunted

I don't want to feel you anymore
You demon of my head;
You of torment
and delusions
Robber of time, heart
Proclivity is dead.
I don't need the game you're playing
My emotions ragged
And confused,
You ragged beggar
Parasitic drifter
Thief betraying
Your cloak of subtle
caverns where water drips,
in singular torture,
bearing a bloodless coat
While from these veins
you sip.

Thick, wooly, dense,
You skin me until the meat
Peers out from bone.
Nerves waving tentacles
Naked, and exposed.
Prowling in the forest of my waking dream,
Tiger striped predator
Eating every synapse
Every connection
But I refuse your screams.

You leave me bloody
By the shade of wide leafed
Trees
In scortching heat
I am a remnant
of me.
Damnable hellfire lips
a careless lover
In a carnival of players
On a silent movie screen
Credits reel.

Your pseudonym missing,
Your leading role obscured.
You mask your face,
Your destruction,
While the world continues on;
You crush me at the knees.

Tonight I'm taking a break from my continuing story The Dinner Party - Part 5

tiger-1963828_1920.jpg
Image


This ends my daily freewrite hosted by @mariannewest.
Today's prompt tiger

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers! Today we talk about Ongoing Stories join the conversation to win a chance at a free #steembasicincome membership!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png
wandrnrose7_red.png

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

I get a sense of a deep, powerful, and raw internal struggle from this. I particularily like the imagery.

I'm so glad to read your feedback. This poem came during a two day migraine where all I wanted was relief and to be able to think coherently, but it was out of my reach. <3

Thank you so much for reading. I'm glad the poem spoke to you. <3

This is stunning. Seriously beautiful, bittersweet and evocative. Just wow. I don't even know what to say.

Thank you so much, @byn. I am so happy you were able to feel this poem. At times, these messages are pushing to be said so I give way to them and let them speak. I once said poetry is like opening a vein to the world. hugs!

That totally fits! I often just end up feeling lost with some poetry, but this was just so perfectly what I needed to 'hear' or something. I really really loved it.

I'm happy it did. It's pure emotional outlet for me and a mystery that it can uplift a reader. I'm glad it touched you!

You have a skilled hand and a bleeding heart. Beautiful piece... I really like this :)

Thank you for reading and appreciating this. hugs

Such pleasantry peeled from pain.

Yes, it was peeled of pain, thank you for directing a maze. <3 followed!

Hello dearie..

Welcome to steemit, to interact and get to grow better on steemit, find your niche and be educated on steemit...do well to join us on our Steemschool discord channel using this link https://discord.gg/2F74XX9

Look forward to seeing you there.

Hi @morahn,

I am glad that you left this comment and I have the opportunity to help you on your Steemit journey. Your comment looks a lot like spam and people on this platform do not like this. I took some time to read through your recent comments I noticed that this message is a duplicate of money that you have placed on other accounts.

Actually if you continue to post this same comment, some of the bigger accounts might downvote you to a point where you are not visible anymore. Here are two good articles which will help you to be successful on this platform.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatamidoing/it-s-a-great-time-for-new-users-to-earn-sbd-by-leaving-good-comments

https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptofiend/the-complete-steemit-etiquette-guide-revision-2-0

I'm sharing this comment previously written by @mariannewest
The tips will help you become successful on Steemit and avoid flags and lost reputation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28