The Encounter - Day 4 Freewrite Selfie Contest

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The Encounter

She lived on the fringes, daring only to step from the shadows of the trees when the moon rose high in the sky.

Her eyes glowed with an unearthly luminesce, darting left and right with each ginger step toward the clearing, leaving the shelter of the last overshadowing tree. She moved like a whisper, almost floating. Her fur was short, as silken as a Parisian scarf.

The hunter sat still, holding his breath, an arrow ready in his bow. The fabled Hind he'd been told existed here, but none could catch, was in full view and breathtakingly beautiful. He knew her instincts were unearthly. One miniscule move from him and she would evaporate like smoke, so he was told.

He'd promised his father he would bring her home tonight. His father scoffed around his cigar and slapped his back with a hearty laugh. I'll show you, I'll show everyone!

His finger itched to draw back the bow as he struggled not to intake air.

Her snout flared in the moonlight and her head turned swifly to face his direction, ears cocked. Her eyes began to spark a brilliant blue. He felt an odd electric buzzing around him. What was happening to him....?

A chilling cold started to seep into his blood as he went to draw back the bow, he had to hurry but...

trees-83487_1280.jpg

This is my 5 minute freewrite hosted by @mariannewest. The prompt is
Tree

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively frreewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

rose_new.jpg

Logo by @Bembelmaniac

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking *referrals earn free coin, too! *

Sort:  

There is a big difference between writing well and being a creative writer. I think you are both! Well done @wandrnrose7 !

Sweet! Keep up the good work!
Cheers!

Thank you so much! Sorry my vote power is down, I'll vote your comment tomorrow!

Great suspense generated in a very few lines. I love the way the scene is described to us along with the inner world of the hunter (and the prey). Very nice piece of work! Grateful to have seen it!

Thank you for the wonderful comment. I may want to explore this piece more. It was fun writing.

Great story :D but then again I love everything you write!

Thank you @snook <3 I appreciate your support always! *hugs!

That magic encounter could not end in tragedy and this time hunter and Hint merged into one being ... I liked your story....Greetings @ wandrnrose7

Wonderful imagery and tense storytelling. Wow! Is this a fragment of something larger?

Thank you @wordymouth! I had fun with it. I would like to add to it. The image of the Hind has me curious.

Ughhh I can't wait to see where this leads!! So mysterious 👀

Thank you for the compliment! I hope to develop this more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84