That Day - Day 175:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

That Day


The day had finally arrived. It was May, a beautiful sunny day, of 2011. I stood in line with the rest of my graduating class, each bedecked in our blue robes.

This day represented 11 years of hard work. I was a late bloomer, an adult learner. I started college the age 38, after a separation from a 20 year abusive marriage.

I slogged through 11 long years a full-time work, full-time raising two sons alone, and half-time College.
Some of my classes were taken in the summer, some of them were taken online, but the majority of them were classroom learning. Many nights I fell asleep on my laptop while trying to study and complete an unwieldy caseload of lessons and reading.

Every new semester, when I needed to fill out the papers for my college loans and select new classes for the upcoming sessions, I would feel an inner shaking. I didn't know if I could keep doing it. I wanted to quit. It was so damn hard. But I persisted! I needed to take a couple of post-graduate classes in order to fill my requirements due to the fact that the undergraduate classes that I needed were available only during the day and I was not able to get a work schedule to accommodate those classes.

This day, I wore my cap and my robe and then I was informed that I was supposed to have a sash! The sash was to represent that I had graduated Summa Cum Laude!

Somewhere, I had missed that paperwork. It would have been a white sash which I never got. But that was okay. My sons were there, and my daughter-in-law to witness me accepting my blood, sweat and tears, a Speech Communications Bachelor degree.

FB_IMG_1523581839591.jpg
Throwback Thursday selfie

U5dsEMtZcWM28sgUZCf8g83DG4ZYERR_1680x8400.png

This ends my daily freewrite hosted by @mariannewest
Today's prompt robes

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png
wandrnrose7_red.png

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

Great job!

Managing to graduate at all under those circumstances is an accomplishment to be proud of, but Summa Cum Laude?

Congratulations. Truly a great achievement.

Thank you so much! That you time was just a blur. I look back in wonder that I made it through. I even had the car accident and the migraines started in 2000, though not as bad as some lately!

Jeez, doubly impressive!

You might try taking sole morning and evening - the"e" should have an accent, so it is pronounced "solay."

It is basically a solution of saturated mined salt, such as Himalayan or Celtic salt, and to make the solution you fill a glass bottle with a plastic lid 1/3 full of the salt, then fill with water, and shake it until all the salt is wet and flowing freely. According to the sources I've read, you should only measure and stir the solution with a plastic or non-metal spoon, as the metal has an undesired interaction with the solution that renders it less effective. And a metal lid will corrode quickly.

There will be undissolved salt remaining in the bottom of the bottle; once the salt disappears, add more, as there should always be undissolved salt remaining, to make certain that the solution is fully saturated.

Take 1 tablespoon in a glass of water upon awakening, and again, before you go to bed. You can take it again in the middle of the day, as desired, but it is not necessary. Twice a day should be enough.

It is supposed to help hydrate the body far better than drinking water alone, balances the minerals in your body, helps your digestion and aids in absorbing nutrients better, and a side benefit is that it is said to help prevent all headaches, including migraines.

I hope it helps. I've been doing it for a couple of months, and while the first couple of days I disliked how salty it was, I quickly grew to like it, and now I find that my body craves it. I've never been a big salt user and I've been told in the past that I had low sodium levels; guessing that is probably no longer the case! ;-)

Thank you for the suggestion! I've never heard of sole before. I will look into it. I also am not one to consume salt as we were not a family to add salt at the table. I just ordered some on Etsy. Here is to trying!

Good luck with it - I hope you find it as useful as I have!

That was great to read! I also want to go back to school. I'm so impressed you persisted for 11 years!


If you haven't seen yet, this is today's prompt!

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you, dear! It was a good lesson on goal setting and discipline. Thank you for the prompt.

Kudos to you for graduating Summa Cum Laude, even if you don't have the white sash! You have achieved what some others only dream off. I am proud to call you friend!

Thank you! It was pretty amazing to me to receive that award on graduation day! I had been a long hard journey and there are few times in my life that I felt so accomplished! Now I remember it every time I get my monthly bill lol

11 long years that ended with something great. Glad you kept going. :-)

Thank you so much! Those many times when I just felt like it was too much something told me I just couldn't quit. I'm glad I finished up. Now the loans to pay off!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.68
ETH 2443.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36