Mute Them

in #freewrite5 years ago

Mute Them!

If I had only realized what an electronic monster I was creating when I created multiple email accounts way back when I had AOL dial up. Take this from a rural country girl who had to wade through several feet of snow to get snail mail from a mail box by the road. I thought I had hit the jackpot when I signed up for my free emails!

Mom was a letter writer. I admired my mom. I became a letter-writer, too. The paper writing used real paper, real envelopes, and real stamps that had to be bought with real money. It wasn't always available.

Here comes the internet age and I am told that I can communicate with anybody anytime day or night that I want and I thought if one free email is good, wouldn't it be great to have four FREE email addresses?

Okay. Fast forward to the 20th century. We're seeing people who never have time away from their phones or their inboxes. Is this a plot designed to keep us so busy staring at our emails and messages that we don't even know what's going on? Even if it wasn't a plot I think it's happening anyway.

You see family sitting in the living room, if they're even in the same room, and all of them are staring at a phone. Notifications are pinging every 10 minutes or less.

I don't know about you, but I shut off notifications at night so I don't have to hear those annoying interruptions. You know what I mean, you hear a notification you think I'm not going to check it but don't you just pick up that phone and check it anyway? It's best to just mute them so you can get a decent night's sleep.

This is a freewrite is my response to inbox find prompts daily here: @mariannewest.

I hope you'll join in with our growing group of dedicated freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking
referrals earn free coin, too!

photo credit - author

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I resisted getting a 'smartphone' for all those reasons, I got my first one in the fall of 2016.

from the start, I have and still have ALL NOTIFICATIONS TURNED OFF,
At ALL TIMES.
My phone is a phone. If I WANT to check email or messenger or
Texts, I can and do, but I do NOT want those things chasing
After me. At night, I used to turn my phone off completely
But now I use it as my alarm clock, and since those things
Are all turned off anyway, I leave it on.
This post was upvoted 100% Janelle.
Well done.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Excellent #freewrite @wandrnrose7 but you posted the wrong link on Marianne's post. 👀

🎅Bruni bringing gifts of joy in today's prompt!
Webp.net-compress-image (2).jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day412-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-boxer

Thank you for reading and the 100% upvote. My votes are dust votes with the low steem price. Im glad you liked my thoughts on the electronic revolution.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63152.69
ETH 3233.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45