Important Things - Day 201-5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Important Things - Day 201-5 Minute Freewrite

She slid the crumpled, folded paper across the desk to her father who sat with his head bowed over a stack of bills and folders quietly. Her tousled blond hair went this way and that, little curls framed a pixie-like face and blue eyes stared out hopefully waiting for his reply. Her father mumbled something and his pen kept moving in the dim office light.

"I made something for you," she said quietly.

He looked up briefly into her young face, but he wasn't really looking at her.

Ok, honey, " he said. I'll look at it in a bit, Daddy has important papers to work on."

She bit her lip and frowned a little.

*Ok, Daddy."

She turned from the desk and walked slowly toward the door. At the doorway she stopped for a moment, her small shadow casting a shadow across the faded blue carpet.

"My paper is important, too."

Her father's pen stopped a moment at her words. He looked up again and she was already gone.

He pushed his stack of papers to the side and let out a long sigh, reaching over he picked up the crumpled paper, it was slightly damp from his daughter's hand in the hot evening. Slowly unfolding the paper, a hand drawn picture greeted him of a little girl sitting on the lap of a man. Across the bottom of the drawing, written in crayon was written "I love you, Daddy! "

He pushed his chair back quickly and followed his daughter to her room.

She was laying in her twin bed. He slipped in to her room.

"Amy, I'm sorry I didn't read your paper first. It was far more important than any papers I was working on!"

Amy blinked a tear away and held her arms wide for his hug.

"Thank you, Daddy! "

girl-56683_1920.jpg

This is my 5 minute freewrite hosted by @mariannewest important
I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png
wandrnrose7_red.png

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

Awwa little tear jerker! Love this freewrite!

Incredible, that often happens a lot, it's so important to value those little details, and those things that really merit importance, best regards

What a beautiful, loving story. Things said and done from the heart of our loved ones are huge and the most important of all. I loved your description of Amy; I had a clear image of cute, little Amy in my head immediately, which made her real. : )

Resident cat here, wondering why anyone would need a parasol today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-202-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-parasol

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I am glad you could "see"little Amy! She came very vivid in my muse. She has her story to tell, apparently. Thank you for the prompt!

I think that happened to me when I was a kid! Good story.

Aww I taught Sunday school for years, I watch parents and their children... I think the greatest mistake is not to taking their concerns too seriously. Thanks for stopping by!

That's very touching. I'm glad it ended in a positive way.

Thank you very much for reading, and for commenting! I'm very glad that you enjoyed this little story and I'm happy for bringing a little bit of positivity into the world. Take care!

With all that is going on right now, I could use all the positivity there is lol!

Well, my thoughts are with you! <3

So beautiful!!

Thank you @freewritehouse! Oh, the stories that we bring from freewrites!

for sure!!!

Awwwwnn! A daughter's love for her father. Lovely freewrite @wandrnrose7

Thank you, my friend! I know how important that truly was is!

Such a sweet story... so true!

Thank you so much for reading and appreciating this little story. hugs

Aaaaawww, my suffocating heart! :)

Thank you for the sweet comment. Sometimes we have to remember the little ones!

You made a tough man cry!

<3 I appreciate that in anyone when a child captures a heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60255.54
ETH 2640.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55