Dirty Dishes - Day 16 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Dirty Dishes

She stood over the sink overflowing with dirty dishes. Her heart was heavy, and hair disheveled. Losing Anthony, her joy and motivator, had kept her in her bed for a week.

Why did she tell him they needed milk? Why couldn't he have told her he'd pick it up the next day after work?
Why, why, why. She may as well have killed him herself, but he never let her go without. Milk for a cake. She was baking his birthday cake and had no milk.

She picked up a glass from the soapy depths and robotically washed and set it down. After a few dishes she went to the cupboard and grabbed a cup and set tea water to boil.

She sat on her side of the table and stared at his empty seat.

The dirty dishes could wait until tomorrow. She drifted off to memories of their last anniversary as tears streamed down her cheeks in the still kitchen.

dishes-197_1920.jpg

This is my freewite for day 16 of the 5 minute freewrite hosted by @marianewest
Join here Day 16 5 Mininute Freewrite
pixabay free image

clipart-bars-dividers-4.jpg

Proud member of the Minnow Support Project on Peace, Abundance & Love Network.
Come join the channel, for uplifting conversation and learn your path on Steemit.
Join Here

logo.jpg

Logo by @KingLeo47

Sort:  

This seems like a pretty good exercise. I wish I could do this, but I don't know. Maybe I'll try it. I love reading them though.

You can do it! You don't need to post until you want to <3 Thank you for reading and commenting.

I'm really glad I found you. I'm enjoying the challenges! Thank you for linking me!

This is truly sad ..Nicely written.

Thank you for reading. Yes, the story is a sad one carried out in too many homes after tragedy strikes. I'd like to think she will learn to regroup and find future happiness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55