24 Hours - Original poetry - Day 170:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

24 Hours



With bones, sinew,
blood, and skin we bear.

With weakness
and in strength
we go about life
mere 24 hour days to share.

24 hours to love,
to live,
to risk each
and every dare.

Though winds
and wild storms
buffet and assail,
with strength, endurance
and gift of health
through all
we may prevail.

This life,
so precious,
comes with no promise
and surely no guarantee
yet, never will I shun
the world
which God has made for me.


clock-3288640_1920.jpg

00569b828f863c7.jpg
This ends my daily freewrite hosted by @mariannewest. Here is today's prompt link health

This poem was edited for flow after an initial 5 minute poem for clarity and flow, I hope you like it!

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png
wandrnrose7_red.png

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

Lovely Janelle! Your appreciation for the beauty and fragility of life comes through in these lines.
I'll admit I don't live each day to it's potential , not even close actually. :) But the fact that this day could be my last has helped me get my butt in gear more times than I can count. Sometimes it's only because I don't want to leave things unfinished or a conversation left where it was that makes me keep trying others, it's only that I don't want to give up. Hugs to you and I hope today is one of the good ones!

Thank you for the sweet comment. I know what you are saying and there are times I need to shake myself out of lethargy in like manner by meditating on this simple equation. Today was not a bad day, but I wish I had more after work energy! <3

I don't have much to say or comment other than I enjoyed it.
I'm not much of a poetry guy myself, but I thoroughly enjoyed this.

That means a lot to me when a person who normally doesn't get into poetry actually reads and enjoys my verse! Thank you so much!

Well, it's undeniabe that your poem is very relatable.
We do indeed all have the same 24 hours a day, and we all have our demons we need to fight and offset in that time. We all get the same amounts, then it just matters what we do with it. I'm happy I took some to read your poem! :D

A good reminder not to waste our lives!
And here is me to remind you of the next prompt!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-172-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-texas

So true! Thank you for the prompt. I'm exhausted, I dont know if I have enough left to write something! Hugs

That's exactly what I was talking about with some friends today - you don't get no guarantee, but it's better to live than not do it and wonder what it would've been like :)
Lovely freewrite, I really enjoyed it :D

Thank you @honeydue! I'm glad this spoke to you. It's a simple message, but one that always strikes home to me with each new development of my life!

If there was a guarantee of something, life wouldn't be such a bitch but, at the same time, so incredibly beautiful as it can be. A guarantee of happiness makes the same concept of happiness empty. It's a matter of choice and freedom, jmho 😉

I so agree with this, dear. The beauty is transient and mixes in with the chaos so intrinsically.

All we can do is take each day as it comes, and try to make the most of it. It sounds so small when viewed in blocks of just 24 hours, but as you allude to, the wide world we get to spend those hours in is what makes them valuable. Thanks for sharing this one - eagerly awaiting your next freewrite!

This is a beautiful poem @wanderingrose, it contains wisdom and gratefulness! Thank you for sharing.
Ps: I am looking for love poems if anything comes up. Dm me the link in discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44