You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bath (5-minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

I use himalayan pink salt and epsom salts when I'm having muscular issues. I love taking a bath too.

Here in the US, a bath is considered more of a luxury (strangely) or something for women/children and most people take showers. (Our bathtubs tend to be tiny too.)

In the UK, where I lived for a long time, it's almost the opposite - i.e. almost everyone takes baths - but then many of the power showers in the UK aren't really up to scratch (at least, that's what I found) - and the bathtubs are big enough to handle almost everyone. :-)

One thing I definitely miss being back in the US - a decent bathtub!

Sort:  

Himalayas pink salt - I have it here. Not sure about epsom. I must go scout it out.

Actually most of here take showers too. It is the language usage that plays a trick.

Over here if we bathe (wash hair and body with soap or shower gel) we can consider it as a bath. If we just wash our body, a quick wash we consider it a shower.

Our bath does not necessarily include a tub. So now I start to think maybe we all use it wrongly since young. Our national language is Malay. So most probably we learn it wrong.

:)

Interesting on the language - not everything translates perfectly, I'm very well aware - writing with my Swedish cousins from time to time.

I love learning about language differences though - yes, here in the US (and the UK), we have the worth "bathe" but it's usually in a bathtub - and therefore called a bath. A shower is when the water rains all over us. The shower you are talking about, I would call a "sponge bath" - we don't have a separate word to distinguish between washing hair or not. It's very interesting!

Epsom salts are great for boosting your magnesium intake - and great for sore muscles. Be sure to indulge yourself from time to time - it's good for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30