Freewrite + Photography - Prompt: Freedom of Personal Power

in #freewrite6 years ago

It was a magical afternoon in my memory. Vivid and pure, beautiful.

IMG_0088.JPG

It was just like it happened yesterday.

The memory in my mind was very clear, the details vivid, everything was just so fresh.

I could feel the gentle breeze that brought along the scent of the sea, the bright summer sun warming my skin, the brush of the grasses as they swayed to and fro.

It was magical, that summer day in my memory. Reality that felt like a dream.

The freedom of childhood was beautiful, no heavy expectations, no big responsibilities, no tainted experience, just innocence and resiliency of youth on my thin shoulders.

Even now, the smiles on the faces of my companions seemed to capture the joy of the time we had together, nothing dark lurking in their eyes or minds while we played and sang, laughed and shouted.

Her braid couldn’t confine her hair, his shirt was stained with dirt, our pockets filled with knick-knacks that we picked as we walked along the shore. The trees nearby provided us shade when we had too much of the sun, and the fruits that were ripe gave us things to snack on.

We were free, we were young, we were wild.

Everything was beautiful to our eyes, nature a sight to behold.

In our curious minds we made up stories to explain the things that we couldn’t, and that in itself was also magic.

But it now that afternoon is just a memory of a time long gone, a place forgotten.

Some are dead, some are dark, some have just disappeared.

The companions of my childhood have grown up with me, learning more about the darkness and brightness of the world.

We’ve flown from our nest, made our own, followed our dreams, stumbled, fell, stood up and lived. We have drifted apart, no messages or calls in years as we pursued what we wanted, what we needed.

Still, as I stand alone, my mind is drawn back to that afternoon, the time where we played, sang, and laughed.


Photo belongs and was taken by me.

Model: Kuya Ike (Friend)

Camera: Canon EOS 1300d

Time of day: Late afternoon (not quite sunset)

(Will change picture orientation later... Hopefully)


(I'm writing this in a tea shop. I think lightning hit the internet router at home)
╥﹏╥ sob, sob

Okay, so this prompt was posted, like, days ago. Still it looked pretty interesting so I used it, but I don't know if it even shows up in the story, it went in a different direction than what I wanted it to go.

Maybe it's in the fact that they went in directions they wanted to. Maybe it's in where the character's mind went (or maybe I'm just trying like crazy to justify that the prompt is in the story). (>y<)

Wherever the story went, it went somewhere, it went back to a previous, long-held memory, something that each of us have. The memory can be dark, bright, full of joy or sorrow. It can wretched, something that forced us into action, maybe a lesson that was painfully learned.

But we have those memories, those old memories... (My mouth, er, fingers, running stuff off...)

Well, let's just leave it at that.

Bye-bye for now~~~

Tin-Tin ( ̄∇ ̄) 🍵 🍵 🍵

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38