Allergic to Alien Technology [freewrite challenge]

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

The Freewrite writing prompt from @mariannewest: nose hair
Challenge accepted.

I sneezed.

Not unusual. I was raised on second-hand smoke and we had cats. But this time something was... caught.

I reached in and felt a tiny fleck, like a pebble, suspended in my nose hairs. I flicked it off my finger and it landed on the counter with a ping. Like, a melodic ping.

It rolled to the edge of the counter and dropped into the dampening floor mat where I stand to cut carrots. I picked it up again and reached for my reading glasses. Is this thing blinking?

The pebble is vibrating and warm. It tingles and shimmers in the palm of my hand. And it seems to be growing.

Sneezes only travel one way. Was this in my brain?

Sinus cavity, more likely. But why? Who put it there.

And then it rang. Like a freaking cell phone, the thing rang. Startled me, so of course it's now on the floor. Hands and knees to find the damn thing again. And then I see them: a whole cluster of tiny, tiny orbs that are blinking near the furnace vent. And I think I'm allergic to them.

Sort:  

think I need to do some f-art poetry for this prompt!

Whoa. I'm going to have weird dreams about sneezing out strange ringing alien orbs tonight!!! Great post, awesome imagery!

This was so so GOOD! and someone best start cleaning! LOLL

So funny!! I hope it wasn't in your brain - who knows what those "things" might have done there. Wait - they made you think that joining the freewriters is a good idea!!! Thank you, little orbs!!
today's prompt :0 https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-63-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-fire

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64443.68
ETH 3507.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55