Absorb This [freewrite challenge]

in #freewrite6 years ago

Today's freewrite challenge prompt is: callous. Thanks, as always, to @mariannewest.

"Mom," I groaned into my phone, "why do you call me every day?"

"Because I love you."

"It's stalky, mom. Don't be so callous."

"Callous? For calling? How is that callous?"

I felt 15 again and the urge to roll my eyes gripped me. "Because you're calling a lot. Call-ous. Like zealous is a lot of zeal. Pompous is a lot of pomp. You're a lot of call."

I could hear her giggling, damn woman.

"Honey, that's not what callous means. Callous means... uncaring. It means, too rough to feel things, like a callous on your foot. Unable to absorb love or anger because your outer skin is so thickened and, well, callous, that nothing gets through. That's hardly me."

"Can you absorb my anger right now?"

"Of course I can, honey. I just choose not to."

And she wonders why I don't like her calling me.

Sort:  

I so love this!!! I think there are a lot of Call-ous moms out there lol

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-75-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-dog-hair

Fair play to ya. That's really creative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68