Fateful Thursday Morning #FreeWrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

Source :)

It was a chilly morning on that memorable Thursday. The courtroom had a few souls when I arrived. I sat in the back bench facing the dreaded bench and a huge wall clock dangling right underneath the eye catching coats of arms.

Within twenty minutes, I had decided it was the longest morning of my life. The journey from home was long but waiting for a person to take my freedom away was longer. The only positive thing about that ill morning was coming to an end of my already decided case.

It had started two years back when I got played and lost my former employer's money. I was arrested and charged with 'stealing by servant.' My charges alone made me cry for more than six months. Then depression followed soon after because I knew my fate was sealed long before the trial.

The man I was being accused of stealing from was a former officer of the law. I had been showed with a few painful 'conversations' how his retired influence was still influence. They insulted me for nights and took the advantage of my being so green in law breaking.

My name was called out. It yanked me back to a more painful present and like a zombie, I dragged my feet to its source. I took my place in a familiar dock. It was the last time hopefully I would be seeing of that small hell that I visited after every two weeks for close to two years yet I was shaking. Literally.

The judge read her judgement and immediately my eyes flew to where my sisters were seated. Too petrified to even comprehend the sentence, I was quickly shown a back room. My head dropped in shame as the eldest sister in me took charge of self criticism. I had never felt that much of a failure before.


This piece was inspired by the amazing @mariannewest through this prompt :)

Join the movement #freewrite and here.

While you are here, please do visit my posts :)

FreeWrite... Yard Sale

Poetry... In My Deep

Poetry... Light Up Your Path

Thank you for coming.

#BlackQueen

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading this, it was intense and I didn't want it to end. It captured all of my attention. Good job! Thank you for sharing this with us.

I doubted my pen all through but now I am glad to have shared. Thank you for the kind words :)

very sad but all too true story!! Thank you for telling it!!
hugs

Thank you for relating with many :)

💚

I'm hopping from Freewriter to Freewriter dropping the prompt for the day!

Day 113: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: ski

The fate of so many who have no power and trust in a justice system that does not exist...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56