Yard Sale #FreeWritePrompt

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Back.jpg

Kamae Borstal Girls Institution Photo taken last December 2017.

H signals her driver to bring the truck behind the old garage. She is sitting at the edge of some special seats. She has had them since she got married until last week when her oldest son dragged them out in the name of refurbishing her home.

Jackson reverses her old Land Rover Defender as per her request. He and Stan the caretaker load her parting lot within an hour. They leave Stan cleaning and head to Dee's place. Dee is hosting a yard sale dubbed 'All things nice' to help raise funds for the less fortunate.

Her tokens are meant for close to forty girls who are currently institutionalised in the only girls juvenile in Kenya - Kamae Borstal. She hopes to gather enough to get a few cartons of dignity packs. She knows just how much they need them, having seen it first hand.

She wipes her ever wet eyes and steps out of her truck. Volunteers help them to get settled while she scribbles something to place on her 'table'. It reads, 'I am not over anything I am selling so please take care of it when you buy it. I am only selling to come through for some girls I adore, who are behind bars.'

A while later, curious, a man approaches to try and understand her phrase. He asks the meaning and gladly she explains. 'I am raising money to buy some dignity back for some precious souls. Regardless of what they may or may have not done, I believe they deserve to have their dignity intact'.

The man smiles warmly and asks how much is everything. Shook, H turns to Jackson in confusion and back to the smiling stranger and repeats, 'Everything sir?'. He nods. 'That will be 210 dollars,' she says beaming with tears. 'I'll take it! The man says joyfully.

He extends a hand and shakes hers firmly introducing himself. 'I am Marcus. I support good causes by buying off stuff on this kinda yard sales. I am also a good friend of Dee. Nice to meet you'. 'Helen. But people call me H. I work with Clean Start. Mine is to reach those in prisons. Pleasure'.

Recycled Coloured Glass Photo taken in September 2017 at a yard sale in Karen Nairobi.


This piece was inspired by the amazing @mariannewest through this prompt :)

Join the movement #freewrite or here.

While you are here, please do visit my recent posts :)

Describe Wind

In My Deep

Hidden

Fallen for him

Thank you for coming.

#BlackQueen

Sort:  

I hope that this a somewhat true story. I know you volunteer in a prison, right - I hope the part of a generous donor is true!!

It is somewhat true :) And yes I volunteer in prisons :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36