You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flea market - A story written in five...ish minutes

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Not a problem at all! :D Glad you enjoyed it! :D
I like writing (and reading) morbid stories, too, but it really depends on the day. Sometimes I'll write down the jolliest of events, and another time I'll murder everyone you hold dear (figuratively, of course).
Shrugs shoulders
You never know.

Feel free to steal the title, haha! :D All too often do I end up either with an idea that gets turned into a longer standalone story, or a story that ends at ~6 instead of 5 minutes. :3
But that's life. Nobody's perfect. ^^

And thank you so very much for the resteem! Means a lot to me! :D

Sort:  

You're most welcome.
Six minutes. Sheesh. I've never finished writing even the shortest of stories in six minutes!
Morbid stories are well and good, and the sell, and I'm a big girl. I can take it. I'd just rather smile at the end of a good yarn than shake my puny fist of rage at the injustice of the world. ;)

Might be because I usually have a general idea in mind already. :3 I just go with the first thing that pops to mind when I read the prompt and let the keyboard do the rest :p

Hmm, I've grown to be quite the opposite, really. All these happy ending movies and fairy tales we're fed with since the day we're born have made me want to experiment with the other side of the scale of justice - or at least with the reality of things, which isn't always rose-colored.
Sometimes the world sucks, and sometimes it doesn't. It's always going to be that way. :p Might as well write about the sucky parts to help balance out all the sugarcoated movies I've watched. :P

chiming in your conversation :) Of course, I can't speak for Carol, but for me, I think age might make a difference. I have seen so many real-life bad endings that I love to see/read good/positive/happy endings in my entertainment...

Might be.
I'm not saying we don't have it better off now, but I think it's mostly because the bad stuff gets filtered. Censored.
I believe we've been robbed of our freedom of speech, where the society will slowly alienate you if you don't fit its mold. :|
(This reply is worded really badly. Sorry about that, but I just woke up and slept only about 2 hours. haha :D)

Oh no- go back to sleep!!!

Well, that is a huge topic. Your country was in the East block at one time and I lived in the divided Germany. I was on the West side, but right on the border and we did travel to the East and sent packages and such. No printed material was allowed to be brought in and when we traveled - only train travel was possible, you could feel the change in the train car - the conversation stopped.
But I agree - even though we have the internet with its endless possibilities, we also have so many ways of suppressing speech.

That sounds awful!

But yeah, even still, we can't openly talk about many, many, maaany topics even with today's "supposed" freedom of speech.

We even get judged by our friends and family for trying to speak about a certain topic that is considered taboo, and it's sickening me.
It's sickening me that we've come so far that the society alienates you for speaking your mind instead of succumbing to the masses. ._."
It's not as brutally imposed as it used to, I very much agree with that.
But I do believe it's still very much there. Only a little more "subtle".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36