5 Minute Freewrite Prompt (Day 61): My Shoe Got Stuck In The Mud

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

It is amazing how variable our perception of time is! Five minutes waiting in line at the Wal-Mart checkout feels like an eternity, but I feel like I just blinked a couple of times after setting the timer for this freewrite, and it was time to quit.


5 minute Freewrite prompt: my shoe got stuck in the mud


Panic set in.

I hadn’t even told anyone where I was going to be; now, here I was stuck up the waist in mud. It hadn’t looked that mushy before I stepped in it, but is sure didn’t hold my weight.

I began to look around for something to grab onto; something that would give me the leverage I needed to break the suction this mire had on me and allow me to pull myself out. I noticed a vine hanging from the side of a giant oak tree. I knew it was poison ivy, but what is an itchy rash when compared to my LIFE?

I reached out and grabbed it.

Thankfully, its roots ran deep. I pulled with all of my might and began to hear a sucking sound. I was almost free!! Then, with a pop, my legs came loose and I was able to climb out, but I was missing my shoes.



If you're interested in science fiction, time travel, history, or Nikola Tesla, then you should check out A Hard Fork In Time: Tesla's Departure Part 1 and Part 2.

Sort:  

Welcome! I could almost hear and feel you as you were setting yourself free. And what you wrote about our perception of time was 100% right on! Tip!

Welcome to the freewrite! I'm glad I had a chance to read your story. I have lost my boots in the mud many times! Thanks for sharing.

So happy to have you with the freewriters! this was a great story and I agree with you on the 5 minutes! I'm wishing I could type faster than I do most times.

I have the opposite problems. My typing works faster than my brain!

Reminds me of many of my walks back in Scotland :-)

Great job on continuing your story! I will have to try that one of these times. This is one of my favorite challenges and I'm glad I got to see your entries today :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41