Show Me The Way Home - 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt

in #freewrite5 years ago

Today's #freewrite prompt from @mariannewest is show me the way home.

There is a old gospel song that has the following line: "This world is not my home, I'm just a passin' through." And though I believe in eternity and have a hope of a better home, I am struggling today as I contemplate how to provide a home for my family here on earth.

Though our faith story and world-views may be different, we all struggle with finding home.

Below is my submission for today.


house-1353389_640.jpg
Image Source


For years we have been a nomadic family, moving from place to place. We have lived in other peoples’ houses and under other peoples’ roofs. We have been blessed by extreme generosity and love, but all of this moving is taking a toll.

We left a place we loved, a place where we invested our lives for more than 10 years. We left the only “home” our kids had ever really known. Everything since has felt like false imitations. Houses don’t make homes.

I want stability in a place to call my own. I am tired of the uncertainty of what is next. I have tried fix this problem, but all of my attempts have resulted in failure. I am exhausted and worn.

I am at the end of my rope, and I am not sure of my next step. I ached as what appears to have be the right "next step" has slipped through me fingers.

God, give me peace and show me the way home!


As always, thanks for stopping by! I look forward to reading your comments below.

@SumatraNate

Sort:  

So many are struggling with what you are struggling with... take time to breathe, acknowledge the pain, and then keep striving for your family. I will be praying for you and your family, while we await that better home after while...

@deeanndmathews - I greatly appreciate your prayers during this time. It has been challenging but we keep moving forward in faith.

I think there are a lot of people that go through the same thing. Some times though we just want to plant ourselves in one spot and watch a tree we plant grow.

Yes, this is a real struggle and so many people are experiencing it right now. When it is time, I do want to plant my roosts deeps so that I can have meaningful connections with other people and impact their lives.

Well written. Is nice to see a post mentioning God in a good way. Thank you for this post.

Thanks for the kind words. My faith is important part of my life, and I hope I am a good ambassador of God, who I claim to follow.

See you around!

I do as well. I am proud of you!! Well done my friend.

I know the feeling, and if there is a need for stability for our children, I live in someone else's roof. But very well it says a house does not make the home.

As parents we want to give stability to our children, and it is hard when we are not able to do so. My thoughts and prayers go out to you in your time of transition.

For you to have come to know and think about this means you value your life so well and do think things through, which I like.

Well, am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt. Hop in.

On this kind of a day
Choose only one prompt if you may
When it's 5-minutes, put your pen away.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-6-15-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
A guru you wanna become
Trying all the three prompt
Here, show the world who is the champion.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-6-15-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence

...
...
Am wishing you a very blessed weekend

Hi @sumatranate!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.249 which ranks you at #2645 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 15 places in the last three days (old rank 2660).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 146 contributions, your post is ranked at #119.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22