Day 122: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: Spa

Wellness

He looked at me, almost hostile, with narrow eyes, scrutinizing me from my top to my bottom and back to the top again. I had already closed the door behind me, I didn't want to step out again. How would it look like? That I didn't even dare entering a spa, or rather a sauna, if there's a man inside? That I didn't like what I was seeing when I had entered? Why was he the only one in here, anyway? Had I overlooked some kind of sign, was this supposed to be his private party and I was interrupting? I didn't feel comfortable. I had wrapped the towel around my body, nothing underneath, because that's how I knew it. To be fair: He didn't wear anything, either, but his legs were crossed, covering the parts he obviously wanted to keep to himself. At this point. I hadn't even moved forward, I just realized, I still stood right in front of the door, thinking, pondering, unsure of what to do. I had been in situations like this before, but never had I felt uncomfortable. What was it about him, about this man? Why did he make me freeze in the middle of a hot sauna? I just couldn't figure it out. He looked average, not bad, not good. Just average. Had I seen him before?

Sort:  

Now this is a great situation you've created! The million dollar question - What next? I guess we can just make up what we want! Love it!!

Thanks a lot! I'm so glad you like it that much! What can I say - since I'm not the quickest on the keyboard, the time was up! I thought "Oh no" and was actually hesitant about posting it ;) But then again, I have an "open end" in a few of my stories, and I do often prefer "uncertainties" myself when I read or see stories. Glad you liked it, too!

Very compelling, STR:) Love how you set up the tale:)

Thank you so much!

I am still smiling about this line;

but his legs were crossed, covering the parts he obviously wanted to keep to himself.

Great freewrite :)

Thank you, that's so nice! Now I actually had to smile again :)

Really nice freewrite. I have to say that I am eager what really happened with that man :) and why he was so shy to cover up his pride :) haha .

Thank you! And yes, good questions, haha ;) I often have no clue where I'll end up when I start writing, I mostly like to capture moments. Sometimes there's a story developing from these moments, sometimes it's not. I used to think I'd have to finish a story (in whatever way) before I can send it out into the world, but I no longer believe that - and freewrite (or steemit in general) seems to be a perfect place for such things and just trying something new!

I would say that someone going alone and naked to a place like that is looking for excitement with some measure of safety. It seems like she was simply disappointed that what she found wasn't as exciting as what she had hoped for, I think she'll just make the best of what's available and step on into the sauna. 😏

Very interesting thoughts, thank you! I love how anyone can see a story from a different perspective! I hadn't thought about this, going naked and alone to the sauna is pretty common in Germany, in fact, there are often signs/boards with "sauna rules", among them: no clothes. And that's definitely not because Germans are so open-minded and outgoing personalities ;-)

LoL I'm sure there are probably many similar type spas here in the States, just not in my circles. I have never been to one myself so I really have no clue 😮. There, I gave myself away as someone at least a couple of shades below the level of sophistication. 😉

Hahaha, awesome!!

I can feel how uncomfortable she feels... hmm. did she know him from somewhere...
Welcome to the freewriters :)

Thank you so much, and especially for hosting this great contest! I'm so glad I'm here! Hopefully I can host something in the future, too, when I feel like I "know" steemit and how it works better...

Nice writing there @storytllng.rocks I particularly liked the line "Why did he make me freeze in the middle of a hot sauna"

Welcome to the free writers. You'll feel right at home here.

Thanks a lot! And yes, I do already feel at home :)

Great stuff, glad to hear it :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61