A fresh start (#Freewrite day 152)

This is my contribution to today's #freewrite with the prompt "brand", hosted by @mariannewest.

Thanks a lot for stopping by!

bed-2607154_1280.jpg
Image Source

It was brand new day, she thought. Wasn’t that a song? She hummed a melody that seemed familiar, yet she couldn’t remember the lyrics. Except for “Brand new day”. Was it really a new day? she thought. When did a new day begin anyway? Midnight? Why? Why couldn’t a day begin at let’s say 10 o’clock? Oder just after the sun had set? Did it make any sense? Not really. Not to her. Nothing made sense. Yesterday, she had been Mrs. Perfect, with Mr. Perfect at her side. And today, everything was new. She had to start over. First of all, she had to get up, and she wasn’t sure she would be able to do this. Not today. Not alone in this apartment. Why did people always say “brand new day” with the implication that this was a good thing? Why couldn’t just the old day be better than the new day? She just wished she could turn back time, go back to the point at which her world was still perfect, to a point at which this stupid humanoid robot had not shut down for good due to system failure.

Sort:  

Nice Freewrite!

The thing is that the perfect day that she remembers was just an illusion. In fact, it was not perfect at all, she just hadn't recognized that fact yet. That is why we shouldn't try to live in the past, or especially our idealized version of the past. All we can do is live in the illusion of today and hope no one spoils it by proving to our consciousness that the world is broken and there is nothing perfect about it.

Was that too much of a downer? Maybe I should start over and try not to spoil my perfect response lol.

This was a great Freewrite, don't worry, I'm sure a new Mr. perfect is right around the corner. 🙂

Wait, now I sound sarcastic and condescending. Well darn, nobody is perfect. 🙁

I really did enjoy the story. 👍

LOL, thanks a lot, this perfect rollercoaster of a comment made me laugh a lot! I'm glad you liked my story, thanks so much for taking the time!

I always stay up into the wee hours reluctant to let the old day go and have to start a new one.
It’s your Wednesday prompt delivery person here with today’s challenge:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-153-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-speaker

Thanks a lot for the delivery! I'm glad it's still a few hours till the wee hours - well, for several reasons, one of them being that I still have much time to figure out the next freewrite!

Great way to use this prompt and I loved the ending. Both of which I never saw coming! Loved this! : )

Awww, thank you so much for your lovely words, I'm so glad you liked it! To be honest: I didn't see the ending coming until I was close to it, either ;))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50