5 Minute Timer: Come Together

in #freewrite6 years ago

Find the prompt here!

Come together
Right now
Over me

Is of course, or perhaps not of course, the first thing that comes to my mind. When I was growing up, the oldies station was 97.3, KBSG! (said in a sing-songy voice). It played music from the 60s, mostly, and this was what we listened to, because my mom liked listening to the music of her youth (she was born in 1947). So that's what I thought "oldies" meant, music from the 60s. Now the oldies station plays music from the 80s, maybe even 90s, and I do not like that. I wish that oldies had a static definition and didn't just mean "music from 30-40 years ago." The only radio station I know of, now, to hear music from the 60s, is 60s on 6 on Sirius radio, which I can't get on my CD player/radio. So I can't reliably listen to the music of my youth on the radio, which is the music of my mother's youth, which is kind of how I learned to sing. That, and singing in choirs from age 8 on. And just listening to records earlier than that. Sometimes I worry, a bit, that we don't listen to enough music with Lochlan.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The same thing came to my mind, only people like me came to embrace this music as their own, even though the Beatles were no longer a thing at the time and John was dead..
Anyway, I'm here to deliver the new prompt and get you writing:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-346-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-music

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I think we listen to enough music with him. Especially when we were listening to classical music on the radio. But also he and I dance around quite a bit. And, of course, he has his favorite cd.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66