5 Minute Freewrite: Music

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Find the prompt here!

Music

The music of the voices of people outside, it sounds grating to me and I wonder if I can change the way I feel about it, think about it, so I might like it, or least be less grumpy about it. It's not so bad since the yellers got evicted, but I still get a bit annoyed sometimes by the voices, the music, the too-loud people who say too-dumb things. I think I am tired of apartment living. I know it, really. I want, we want, a house. A house with a yard, with trees, or room to plant trees. But this is Los Angeles, and only the more-successful get houses, or the people-with-family-help or the people-with-unexpected-windfalls. Well, more than a windfall. A windfall was the gift from my mom not too long ago, but it's still not enough to buy a house. It is hard to be content, sometimes, when you really want something and don't see the chance of getting it anytime soon. Even if we had not moved to Los Angeles, it's likely we'd have as hard a time getting a house in Seattle. And certainly never, if we'd chosen NYC over LA. Maybe if we'd landed in Chicago, but I might be frozen inside if that had happened. So it's good to be here.



LA livin'

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The city of angels ;)

Ah, so this where my loud af neighbors moved from...

Haha, sorry!

Posted using Partiko Android

You certainly would be frozen in Chicago. I had that dream too when I was a young mom and worked very hard to get there and didn't do many things like going to the theater, movies, eating out, traveling, having nice clothing ....and, and, and, to get it. Then, it all went away and I often wondered if it was worth all the sacrifices...

What went away? Kids into adults?

Posted using Partiko Android

No, the house. I ended up divorcing my first husband and he kept the house. Long story. But the many years of not doing things ended up meaning nothing in the end - for me anyway.

Same here, landed property is expensive
That's the city for you
But I think we are those noisy neighbours
Sometimes I walk out of the lift and I can hear the kids having a rah rah of a time with their K-Pop songs...

Kids making fun joyful noises would be lovely to hear.

Posted using Partiko Android

Only to a mother's ear hahaha
I do worry the neighbours will flip
They have been quite tolerant of us so far
So it is a constant reminder to understand personal space, even for audio :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47