5 Minute Freewrite: Laughter

in #freewrite6 years ago

Find the prompt here!

Laughter

I just finished rewatching a moving I hadn't seen since I was in my early 20s, and my primary memory of it was that it was heartbreakingly romantic and that I sobbed at the end. That should have told me right there how it ended, and that I wouldn't be laughing at it this time. It's funny, though, I kind of want to save watching comedies for when I'm with @improv, and he's working tonight, and I knew he wouldn't care if I went back and finished watching Cold Mountain without him. He and I had started watching it once a little while back but we didn't get too far. I don't remember why, too tired maybe, but he had asked me, "Why do you love this movie again?" and I didn't quite remember then that it was because I loved feeling heartbroken when I was in my early 20s! I guess. I mean, as a teen and into my early 20s I was kind of angsty. So this movie fed into that. Now, it just seems unnecessarily cruel. I don't need my movies to remind that life can be cruel. I want my movies to remind me that life can be kind and there is so much more to hope for than to be sad about. It's almost as if someone or something, some force, wants to drag people down. The powers that be. The status quo. The way things are does not want things to change. What's that quote about power yielding nothing? So power wants, or--let's get away from the abstract--those in power want people to be hopeless.


This is me, in my early 20s. I had to get my angst from movies.

PS And we go from laughter to hopeless. Such is life. Have I mentioned before that the title of my inactive blog is "Fucked up and wonderful"? Because life is.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I feel the same way. If I want to be scared or afraid or sad or hopeless - all I need to do is listen to the news. I want my movies to be funny, romantic and have happy endings 🤪

May I ask what is your relationship with @improv before I tell you you look so beautiful in your early twenties, that's enough said, Iont want him to flag me for flirting with his.......

I was sent here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt, and here it is 👇

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-10-27-2018-single-prompt-option

@improv and I are married. And you can pay me a compliment without it being flirting. If your intention is to flirt, well, I would rather not, but that is up to me, not Brendan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48