Margie~

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)



When you see a church, there is usually a gravesite near it.

Most older churches have the original graves very close. You know the ones. They are cover with moss, hard to read, but they do have a certain beauty about them.

A bit further back, you have the new, older section.

In this section there is family, preparing for when both halves of the couple go. There are names with dates half filled in. Then names where dates are chiseled in.

The sad ones are the tiny graves, that hold a child, and next to the tiny grave, another one, a couples grave with no dates on it.



Graves are not visited like they once were. Some as a family outing. Some to speak to an old love, a brother, or friend.

The world keeps getting faster. Those days of meeting to remember old family members are getting farther and farther apart.

Some believe if you visit a grave it makes you feel closer to the perosn's who's body is resting there.





One such grave in the old, new part, of my church, holds a special grave. The grave of my best friend that died when she and I were six.

She lived a field and two houses away. In our neighborhood, you were not afraid to walk that far, so we were inseparable.

Her older brother was my brothers best friend. They were the same age too. A perfect world to live in for the two of us always surrounded by love.

When it snowed we just called on our brothers to come help build the snow fort or help get us out when it came crashing down. They were our older brothers and their job was to protect us. That was the simple fact.

It was the best of both worlds because if it did collapse, it would have been their fault if we got hurt.



To lose your other half as a child, the friend that was always there, and would always be there, is not an easy thing to get passed, when you are six years old.

When someone that knows all your secrets is suddenly gone, and you find yourself all alone, with no one to talk to about silly things, it changes how you react to people that want to be your friend.

You learn to show that life is okay on the outside but in reality, you are very lonely for your best friend.

To say I have felt her spirit when I have visited her grave would not be correct.

The feeling for me and me alone is one of loneliness. The same loneliness I felt the day I saw her die.

The day a part of me died too.



No one at the age of six should have to watch their best friends blood run down a hill, from her head being crushed beneath a bus, on our way home from school.

So for me, graves are not for the living in a good way, but more of a lawn full of sadness.

Sadness that gets attached to the church when I go to pray.

I understand the reasons for churches and graves so close to each other and the comfort many people get from it.

In my mind, my world, even though I can not see her grave from the steps of the church, I know just where it is tucked away in that new, old part of the graveyard.



Prompt: church

Sort:  

<3 I love you. You and dad had great friends in them. I'm sorry it was cut so short for you, and for their family. <3

You do really get into some deep feelings within you 5 minutes.
I'll keep reading and waiting for a 10 minuter.

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

You've painted a very emotional picture with your words. They capture the feelings of grief and loss for a childhood friend - well done!

Loosing a close friend at such a young age has to make a big impact on your life, it's always hard to deal with death and I am now at an age where it is a challenge I have to face quite regularly. But with age you also develop a little bit more ability to deal with it, I know this well having said goodbye to both Grandmothers, my mother little over a year ago, father in law just before Christmas and next week my partners sister taken by cancer far too young. But when you are young, it is even harder to understand and accept - sometimes though just talking and sharing helps share the loss. I enjoyed this, it's a difficult subject but sometimes it can mean so much when you can relate in your own way.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thank you!! and I agree. This is the part of getting older I do not care for.
My Father passed away almost 3 years ago now and it seems just like yesterday, My Mom died once already (long story) but now hope she lives another 20 years........
but as you said the older we get the people we loved getting older too and makes life so much harder when you start to lose more of the people that are your foundation to your life. hugs

What a heartbreaking story. I am so sorry. I can't imagine having to deal with death at such a young age, in such a manner.

Beautifully written, as always. The emotions are so strong. <3
hugs
@byn

Awwa :( I missed this post. I never knew this. I'm so sorry for your loss. I think of a few people when I see grave sites. It is so sad to visit graves. No child should have to lose their friend so young, or witness the accident. :(

I wish I lived closer to you so that I could give you a giant hug! No one should ever have to witness the loss of their beloved friend, especially a child. I love you hon!

I am lost for words. I do not know... I... I am just sending you love, ok?
💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚

I... I am just sending you love, ok?

More than okay <3 This was not an easy thing to write and I thank you for stopping to read it. Your comment made with love brought tears, good ones, to my eyes. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.81
ETH 3626.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93