black: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)


Source

Wandering through the mist in the black of night, the creek was bubbling next to me.

The peace you could feel was unstoppable. It slowed your steps until you had to stop..........

and sit

There was a log jutting out in the blackness.............

I would make my way, most nights, to that log.

and sit.

and breath.

and look around me.

and listen.

The night sounds have always been comforting in nature.

In my little sanctuary of darkness, I would regenerate all the energy I had lost from the day of light and sound.

There was a church in the distance. In the dark, the cross at the top was illuminated more than normal..............

I would sit there and talk to God, my guardian angel, asking questions as I always do.

Some nights there were answers

Some night there was none.

But I always walked back home filled with peace in my heart and the will to carry on.

Snook

*this is a true story

My Day 42: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: black

Sort:  

Congratulations @snook! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I share your same feelings for the darkness..you really managed to create a magic atmosphere @snook :-)

Thank YOU so much @f3nix !!!
I miss that place that is no longer there due to it being developed
It was a special place that I had not thought of in a long time.
One of the reasons I love the #freewrites so much. You never know what will come out!!

and yes, darkness can heal you too, if you let it and are open to it.
Peace to you my friend!

I love the imagery of the words abd the feeling it invoked!

You are truly awesome.

Thank you @maverickinvictus!
Your words made me happy and smile.

I think that is an awesome gift you gave me!
Thank you also for the heartfelt comment!

That is beautiful! I loved your writing! Which I have a lot to read this morning. It is 8pm now :) I am so far behind in writing, so now you have lots of posts to read from me too!!!

it's been one CrAzy night and day here.
I think I needed to write to just feel normal for a while! loll

and Yeahhhh I LOVE reading your posts :D

Your words are lovely, @snook! I wish that you could return to your log. The night will cradle us in her arms while she sings music that we could listen to forever. I'm happy to have found another nyctophiliac!

Thank YOU so much and I wish I could too.
I miss those times.

Thank YOU for making me think of it when it was needed!!

These #freewrites take on a life of their own and it is a good thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51