Roses, Banyans, Statues & Tea

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Rose petals.
Soft as silk.

rose.jpg

I can practically smell them just thinking about them. They make me happy and I need to remember them when I'm feeling crappy.

When I lived in Sarasota, on the gulf coast of Florida, I frequented the Ringling Museum grounds. That's the "John and Mable" Ringling Brothers Barnum and Bailey Circus Ringling Museum grounds. This was their home:


brucehuntimages.photoshelter.com

Located on the bay, with 20' bamboo growing, huge banyan trees (that drop roots from their branches creating a forest of their own),


http://flickrhivemind.net/Tags/ficusbenghalensis/Interesting

statues

statue.jpg
wiki/David_(Michelangelo)

statuee.jpg
wiki/Category:Statues_in_Florida

and of course a rose garden.
Pictured below is the rose garden created by Mable Ringling.


https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/User:Clusternote

One day there were piles of rose petals on the ground from the annual trimming. Glorious. Yes I carried home as many as I possibly could.

Interestingly, it requires about 22 lb rose petals to distill approximately 5 mL of rose oil.

It's said that Rose oil carries the highest frequency and is known as The Queen of essential oils.

This website has some fun and doable rose recipes for salves and a simple oil.
https://thenerdyfarmwife.com/rose-petal-salve-recipe/

Rose petals are edible as well, and are often used in teas.

"A single rose can be my garden...a single friend, my world." Leo Buscaglia

LOVE LOVE LOVE to #freewrite #freewritehouse #theluvbug
THANKS FOR THE FUN!!

Sort:  

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Uncle Bruni loves, loves, loves your #freewrites. Keep them coming daily. 🙏

Doing my best and aiming to improve! THANKS!! 🌻

I had no idea that it takes 22 pounds of rose petals for only 5 ml of rose oil. I say always try to use what nature gives to you. Thanks for the interesting information. : )

Resident cat here, wishing you a great day as I deliver today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-404-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-medicine

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Truly a stunning amount of petals to be sure. I love kitties! 🌻😻

Oh, I am so happy that you love kitties! You warm my heart. : )

OMG their the BEST!! 🌼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45