Crank Up My Game - (Freewrite Challenge - Crank)

in #freewrite6 years ago

     To tell you the truth I have no story Idea for this, but it does make me contiplate if I need to Crank It Up my Game. Already for the last five years or more years (to tell you the truth I can't remember) I write two thousand words per day on a first draft of a novel, minimum, sometimes more, never less, everyday. I don't think I missed on day this year. If I did. I don't remember. Than I spend about two hours editing a novel in the second draft, and then edit a short story. I'm always in a constant state of trying to refine my craft.
     On average I spend roughly eight hours a day focusing on writing, and on my days off, more, lasting from the time I get up until I go to sleep. My family says I'm obsessed. Most likely I am. If I didn't have to work for a living I couldn't image what I could get done. And the strange thing is, it feels like its never enough. Its like I'm not getting enough done. I don't know why that is, but I feel I need to crank it up even more, and when I do crank it up, I still feel like I still need to crank it up. Maybe that is what it takes.
     The first novel I wrote I was so proud of it. It was awesome and masterpieces. I let it set for six weeks and then I read it, and I was stunned. It sucked, I couldn't even read it without stumbling, and come to the realization, I SUCK. Now after years of practice my stories are easy to read and follow, I had taught myself the craft. But the beautiful thing about fiction is that you are allowed to lie and get away with it, and like all lies you have to continue to redefine and improve upon your lie. Writing is a never ending learning circle. There is always something to learn. (Five Minute Bell)
      Well the bell went off. I was just ranting, but one thing is for sure I need to Crank It Up my Game

Note

      I may be wrong, but every great writer I have studied have one common theme, great work ethics. Fact - people are born with talent, but it doesn't matter how good your talent is, if you don't hone your skills, you will never be any good. In everything I have I learned, such playing music, oil painting, etc. I have learned because of my work ethic and my understanding of the power of Repetition.

      When I was fourteen I got a guitar, and when I was first learning to play my fingers wouldn't move and I struggled with making chords, even my pick hand had no rhythm, but because I really wanted to learn to play, I practiced, I played every day over and over and over and over again. After three months my fingers became limber, and I was making sounds from the guitar. Another six months later I was playing Lynyrd Skynyrd, Led Zeppelin, heavy metal, country, alternative, and today after twenty years I can basically listen to almost any song and strum a rhythm to it.

      The principle I had discovered when I was fourteen still holds true today. If you want to get good at something, then got to do it over and over and over and over and over again. The cool part is without you noticing, you will get better and better, until one day someone comes a long, and their jaw drops, their eyes widen, and say. "WOW! You are good." And the principle applies to writing. It's about Repetition. No great skill can be learned and honed without Repetition. It is the only way it can be done.

     The great secret of writers like Stephen King, J. K. Rowling, Sidney Sheldon, etc, became world class is by loving what they do so much, they're willing to do it over and over again, or how ever long it takes. You have that power in you. You can do anything you choose. I believe that, and I hope you do to. You have the power to teach yourself life's greatest secret. A Secret that the wise and world class has been telling rest of the population since the beginning of civilization, that through passion, hard work, persistence to overcome failure, repetition, and dedication, anything is possible.

     George S Clason said it best in his book 'The Richest Man In Babylon, - "Where The Determination Is, The way Can be Found."

     Here we are full circle, and the conclusion is the same for most, and different for a very few, and you have to ask yourself, "Do I have the determination to find a way to make my passion come true?"

     I hope you do, and I bless and encourage you. But if you are not one hundred percent committed, then my friend, you are wasting your time. In the end Time is the only thing we wish we had more of. It can't bought. it can't be won. It can't be trade for. It can't be rewarded on block chains. All we can do is live one moment at a time, and wisest of us spend their time doing what they love.

I want to give Thanks to @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/clock-alarm-clock-watch-time-old-1274699/
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

Congratulations @shanedustin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Uncle Bruni says sometimes the best #freewrites are the rambling ones. You did excellent, I don't know what you're talking about.

Uncle Bruni Thanks for the kind words and encouragement. It means more than you'll ever know.

That sounds like a fine work ethic you have there. Eight hours a day honing your craft. Fair play to you.
It’s the promptest of prompt delivery teams here with your challenge for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-418-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-describe-your-front-door

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

You certainly are dedicated and you are honing your craft. And maybe, just maybe, you don't have to crank it up - just keep going...

@freewritehouse
Thank you for the encouraging comment. I will keep going. To me its like an inch that won't go away and you have to scratch it, and that itch is always in the back of my mind, pleading with me to scratch it. But I don't know, it feels like nothing is ever good enough, and never working hard enough. But in the end I scratch the itch and keeps me going. Your words are very encouraging. Thank You.

I think many writers (or maybe people in general) feel that way. But that can get in the way of creating and ultimately wanting to keep going. You are doing great!! Be nice to yourself :)

Thanks a so much

Hello @shanedustin, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Wow! Thanks for reading and the upvote. Check at your articles, love what you are doing. Awesome!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47