Carnivals are Lies (Freewrite Challenge)

in #freewrite6 years ago


     I had learned a long time ago carnivals are lies.

     “What is it?” Steve said, shuffling his black stringy hair off his face.

     “Nothing,” I said, eyeing the plastic clown fastened to the tent.

     “What?”

     “Nothing man. I swear its nothing,” I said, and turned away from the stupid smiling clown. Carnivals, I thought, they make you think they stroll in your town to create fun, but the truth is there sly evil things, sucking away at your wallets. And the clowns. I hate them, always smiling, with there red noses and their stupid painted face.

     “You are thinking about the clown again, aren't you?” Steve said, his hands on his hips, head cocked, giving me his look.

     “I can't help it,” I said, remembering the scars on my fathers face. I had put them there. He had come home drunk one night, and mistook me as thief and attacked , and I was left with no choose but to defend myself, slicing up his face.

     “Dude, your fathers dead. He got what he deserved.”

     “I know,” I said, my palms slick with sweat, thinking about how my father disappeared after the attack, only to haunt me years later when the carnival came to town, dressed as a clown. I hadn't known who the clown was. For days it followed me and then one night, he attacked. I was forced again to defend myself with my pocket knife. And as the clown lay there dying I looked into those dark blue pearl like eyes, and I had gasped, realizing it was him. My father.

     “It OK man. Enjoy yourself”

     “Yea.” I said shaking my head, “maybe you are...” (Timer went off)

Note:

     This is my second attempt to take the Freewrite challenge. It was fun. It is amazing in such little time what the mind can conjure up. When I first read the prompt I was thinking poem, but after I wrote the first sentence this guy named Steve popped up in my head and said, “What is it?” and the poem evaporated like smoke from a match being blown away in the wind. I'm not much of poet. I maybe written ten or fifteen poems in my life, I always drift to story form. Perhaps next time I squeeze out a poem.

Prompt Used:
1. Carnival

     But what I like best about this challenge is taking advantage of the first things that pop into your head and go with, because you don't have time to stop and second guess yourself, and the mind can conjure up some wierd things.

     I made no changes to the story other than spellings errors, what you read is what comes straight from my mind, and so I am sorry if it is sloppy and incoherent. With that said, good day, good night, good morning, depending on where you are, and adios.

Thanks to @mariannewest for creating this challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/carnival-rides-night-ferris-wheel-2648047/
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

happy to see you writing with us and wow, what a tale you created. What a plot!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, happy to be here. I have to admit it forces me to use my imagination, and i'm a firm believer imagination is more powerful than intelligence. Thanks for reading.

You're very welcome and I can't agree with you more!

Posted using Partiko Android

Didn't see that coming...
No wonder he is not too crazy about the carnival...
Where is the next prompt going to take you....

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Here it is:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-409-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-quarantine

You also want to check out the @FreeWriteHouse for the fun that’s brewing there

FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Awesome, Thanks, I'll check it out.

I can only agree with you and clowns are so NOT funny at all! Great story, no need to write a poem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I have never liked clowns, they scare me. The only thing about clowns is there a cliche, I cursed myself after I wrote, "What was you thinking writing something about clowns, everybody writes about clowns. Be original Shane Dustin."
But Thanks for reading.

If it comes to me you are original! For some reason it os forbidden to dislike clowns... lately it was published many do not like the clinic clowns either. To my opinion it is good to mention it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to our #freewriter community. You did a fine job with that tough prompt. Hope to see you around tomorrow. 👍👍

Thank you for reading. I like the #freewrite community, the prompts are a way to exercise you mind and force your imagination to work. thank you for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54