Not My First Rodeo - A Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

dvp8cvdgoe.jpg

(Photo by Gilles Rolland-Monnet on Unsplash)

My bones creaked and groaned when I crawled out of the camper on the back of my 20 year old pickup truck this morning. That first cup of coffee from the diner on the corner sure tasted good. It went real well with that sweet smile from the sassy waitress. Which was good, because that was all I could afford to go with it.

At the sign-in counter for bull riding I dropped my last $100 for the entry fee. If I didn't place in the winning money today, it was gonna be tough getting back to the ranch. It hadn't been a very good season and times were tough.

My event was scheduled for 2:00 pm which didn't leave much time. I headed back to my truck to get my gear. My chaps had seen better days but my lucky brown vest was still in pretty good shape. I hoped luck was with me today. I really needed to draw a decent bull after that bad spill I took in Austin a few weeks ago.

We stood around in a group as the lottery was drawn to match the bulls with the riders. I twisted my dusty cowboy hat in my hands as I prayed to get any bull except for Widow Maker.

"Rider 12 - draws "Widow Maker" the man announced, then looked at me with pity in his eyes.

Ahhhh, shit!

text15.png



bannerdivisorio_2.jpg

Sort:  

wow, that is so awesome that you are a bull-rider. I'm presuming this is a true story? If so I would very much like to see a free-write about how it went!

Good story man, I am now following you. :)

Thanks so much for the great comment! No, not a true story, I've never even been to a rodeo. Watched a few on TV and read some western. So that's a huge compliment that it seemed to be true. Thanks for the follow, I'm returning the favor!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Oh, no. The pity look! LOL! Sounds like lady luck just isn't on his side. His vest didn't even help him. I enjoyed this story @sevendust04! : )

Thanks, glad you liked it @whatisnew! Yeah, poor guy is not going to have a good ride.

Oh no!! Not the widow maker!!! I am so glad that you are writing with us!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @mariannewest. I wish I had time to do more, you come up with some great prompts. I would never have tried to write something about a rodeo without it.

Am here with the weekends freewrite prompt.

Just this once, and you're glued
this freewrite prompt is single.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-6-1-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
A double portion of anointing
Comes on whoever tried multi-prompt writing.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-6-1-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
...
Do have a nice weekend.
Happy New Month.

Congratulations @sevendust04! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi there @sevendust04

I haven't seen you in a while so I decided to reach out to you. Hopefully you're okey there and you didn't give up on Steemit completely.

If you would ever decide to come back and would post anything, then please send me link via memo and I will gladly check it out.

Take care of yourself,
Piotr

Congratulations @sevendust04! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87