From Vandals to Blackbirds (5- minute freewrite - Wednesday prompt: vandals)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Did you know the University of Idaho intercollegiate athletic teams are called the Vandals? I often wonder if there is ever a really interesting story behind the selection of school mascots. One of the high schools I attended called themselves the Bulldogs; my second high school was the Chiefs. (That was on an American Indian Reservation, so it made some sense.)

Our tiny grade school didn't have a mascot until I was in 6th or 7th grade. Our students didn't play against other schools with any regularity, so I suppose nobody thought we needed a mascot. But my friend, Dawn, and I decided our team should be called the Falcons. We were thoroughly fascinated by the days of King Arthur, and thought a falcon would be an appropriate mascot. I don't remember whether there were other suggestions, or a vote. That part of the story is gone from my memory. I was surprised when I recently learned the name stuck, and that school (still tiny) is known as the Falcons to this day. So in that one particular case, I do know the story behind how the school got that mascot for its very own.

The oddest school mascot I heard of was the Blackbirds. Really, what is fierce about a blackbird? They sing beautifully, but does that matter to a sports team?

Once again, I have digressed somewhat from the prompt, but that's the beauty of a freewrite: I rarely know where it is going when I start!

Thanks to @mariannewest for the daily freewrite prompts! If you haven't tried one, you should!

Sort:  

Congratulations @scribblingramma! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hehe, funny how this prompt got nostalgic for a lot of people. :)

Yeah, it's funny how that works!

How cool that the name Falcons stuck!

I sure think so!

Hugs! Have a wonderful weekend!

How interesting that you were part of the reason for the mascot! That's so cool! Our school mascot was "Trojans" which of course was more about condoms to high schoolers. Seeing how many girls graduated whilst obviously pregnant, the school mascot didn't really help enough! :)

Great freewrite!

In case you haven't seen it yet, here is Today’s Daily Prompt for the freewrite. Feel free to join us if you have the time and thank you for joining us today! It is such an awesome community to be a part of and now we have a new page with contests, new challenges and even more community:

Check out the latest Freewrite Favorites @freewritehouse!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Oh dear, that bit about the Trojans cracked me up! Thanks for the heads up on the latest prompt, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68870.08
ETH 3734.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73