Five minute freewrite Day 291 prompt: helpless

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

cat-806210_640.jpg

image credit

She sat in her wheelchair, staring out the window as usual. Since the accident, she was completely helpless. She was a quadriplegic, relying on other people to feed her, bathe her, and dress her. The worst part was the toileting, and the bags she had to wear. Sometimes they leaked, and she couldn't do anything about it. Why was she still alive? This had to be worse than death, this endless helplessness. And the hopelessness. There was nothing to do but just sit here. She couldn't read a book without help, not even a book on tape. If someone else turned on the TV she could watch a show, but how many re-runs of "Three's Company" and "I Love Lucy" can a person stomach? She could still talk, but she had nothing to say to anyone. It seemed as if she had also suffered brain damage, and most of what she had learned had left her head. She didn't always recognize her friends and relatives.

But then Lucy came into her life. Lucy was a Siamese, very soft and very opinionated. Lucy claimed her lap as her own special bed, and gently purred and rubbed on her hands. Even though she couldn't feel it, she knew she was being loved by that silly little cat, and it made life worthwhile.

Sort:  

So sad but so precious!

I have a soft spot in my heart for cats!

Hey @scibblingramma,
#HotPotato!

@freewritehouse started throwing a hot potato! Don't get caught with it or you'll have to clean up after the party (without any helpers!). And you'll have to think up a new game!

It all began this week with @iamjadeline throwing a hot potato to @happycrazycon who then threw it to @byn, who then threw it to @wonderwop, who then threw it to @tristancarax, who then threw it to @whatisnew who tossed it to @svashta and who then threw it at @wandrnrose7 and then it was in @honeydue's hands who threw it to @kaerpediem who threw it to @fitandfun, and not being able to handle the @HotPotato, she threw it at me!

Even though I enjoy juggling, and actually blistered my hand this week on a hot Las Vegas doorknob, I just can't handle this hot potato so I'm tossing it to you. Catch @scribblingramma! It's yours to pass on or keep!

Don't be tempted to keep it. Please do pass it along because you don't want to clean up the mess. This is how you do it:

Go read another freewrite from the Over20 Club and pass it on to that writer in the comments! Here's the link to the contest announcement: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/hot-potato-an-over-20-club-game

Best of luck! Don't get burned! :D

I really did read your freewrite. "But then Lucy came into her life. Lucy was a Siamese, very soft and very opinionated. Lucy claimed her lap as her own special bed, and gently purred and rubbed on her hands. Even though she couldn't feel it, she knew she was being loved by that silly little cat, and it made life worthwhile."

I have a big Maine Coon who pretends to need me to pet him. I secretly wait for him to show up on my lap. Thanks for the story and keep passing the #HotPotato.

Oh my, I haven't been with my computer for 3 days! I hope it's not too late to pass this on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71